Recognizing God’s Voice

Lately I am once again thanking God for faithful friends who have helped me on my faith journey. One of those friends is Marie Yates.

About twenty years ago, my friend Gloria told me about Marie and her uncanny ability to hear and recognize God’s voice. She told me Marie was teaching others this godly skill.

Gloria informed me of a weekly Bible study going on at Marie’s house in the evening. She said she couldn’t go with me, but she urged me to be there and be blessed. At the time I was battling thoughts of “God doesn’t love me.” A thought would come that the Bible said God loved me. Then another part of me argued, “but my name is not in there.”

For some reason I needed to hear my name along with God’s “I love you.”

I went to this Bible study, and got in a small group for prayer after listening to Marie’s insights about God’s Word. Marie taught us to ask God questions rather than tell Him what we wanted. So I asked, “God, how do I pray about ______?” I didn’t admit my battle with feeling unloved by God. I think I said, “How do I pray about being a better wife and mother?”

The answer God gave did apply to that question as well as to my deep soul need.

God’s response which came from (or should I say “through”?) one of the ladies in my group amazed me.

For one thing, people tend to forget my name when they first meet me. They call me “Ellen,” or “Eileen” or “Eleanor.”  But this lady said my name clearly, and she repeated the phrase several times” “Elaine, know that I love you.” “Elaine, know that I love you.” “Elaine, know that I love you.”

Ever since that evening, I’ve been connected with Marie Yates—attending her Bible study as well as attending and at times serving as a prayer group leader at the workshops to help others learn to recognize God’s voice. This has changed my life and has been key to obtaining and maintaining spiritual freedom.

Marie defines prayer as “communication that leads to cooperation.” As I’ve learned to recognize God’s voice, I’ve developed a hunger to obey. I’ve learned to trust God and to receive the truth He speaks to my heart about Himself, about me, and about the people and problems in my life.

On Thursday, October 3rd 2013 Marie Yates will once again teach her 8- week workshop, “Learning to Recognize God’s Voice.” For those in the area, it takes place from 7-9pm at the Channel 22 Chapel in Largo. Marie has written a book that goes along with the workshop which can be purchased there. For those outside of the area, the book can be purchased on Amazon.com to aid in developing this skill.

Marie has written this about the workshop:  “From God’s Perspective…He is a good communicator…He is a good listener…He will tell you nothing but truth…He will not abandon, abuse, or neglect…He wants you to ask for counsel…He still speaks today.

She also writes: “From Your Perspective…Positions you to know the heart and mind of God…Confirms that God delights in being involved in everything…Supplies you with viable and vital answers…Improves how you communicate with your family and others.”

What a joy it is to know how to recognize God’s voice and to receive the wonderful words of truth He has to speak directly to our hearts.

 …the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice. John 10:3-5 ESV

Will you open your heart to believe and receive all that God has to say to you?

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Recognizing God’s Voice

  1. anitaayers says:

    To know that in God’s heart we cannot be replaced is to know how to be whole. I have come to understand that his relationship to me is as unique and much more so than my relationship with each of my children. You can’t take one of my children away and say, “it doesn’t matter you still have the other two.” No one can take our individual place in the enormous heart of God! His love has made us worthy.

Leave a comment