Keeping Our Eyes on Jesus/Freedom From Depression

This is a reposting of a previous blog. This was first posted on June 4, 2012 by elainecreasman

Years ago God whispered to me when I was sinking into depression over family problems. On certain days back then I wished I could die—that God would take home, so I didn’t have to deal with the heartaches of my life. Here is what the Lord said:

“The difference between a man of joy and the one who longs to die is not the what of his troubles, but where he keeps his eyes.”

Since then I have made laminated cards with that truth printed on them. I pass them out to those suffering from depression and suicidal thoughts and those who are locked into a negative attitude toward life. On the back of these “pass-it-on” cards I have three Bible verses. They are:

My eyes are ever on the Lord. Psalm 25:15 NIV

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. 2 Corinthians 4:18

Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith. Hebrews 12:2

When I think of fixing my eyes on Jesus, I think of the cross. My suffering and my times of depression and grief cannot compare with the suffering Jesus endured there. I am reminded that he died on the cross to set me free from the hurts and heartaches this life throws my way. I still have to go through them, but because of Him I don’t have to be defeated by them.

In my experience the reason I fall into depression has to do with sin—my own and the sin of people around me.

The good news is that Jesus took all that sin on Himself on the cross. Yes, we still have to deal with the effects of sin in this world, but Jesus defeated the lasting effect of sin. It no longer sends us to hell, and it need no longer keep us bound on this earth.

These days I’m battling depression again. I’m still going through suicide grief and I’m grieving over unwise choices made by loved ones that are still living.

Another reason is that when we as writers choose to share truths about a subject to help set others free, the enemy tries to move in and tempt us with that very issue. I refuse to give in.

Instead of feeling depressed, I will return to being impressed by how much Jesus loves me and by all I am and all I have because of Him and what He did on the cross.

Are you still impressed by the love of Jesus–despite hard times?

To hear more about Keeping our eyes on Jesus as a key to freedom from depression go to www.wtis1110.com on Sunday, October 20, 2013 at 9:00am EST and press “Listen Live” to listen to Hearts Set Free with Elaine where there will be a rebroadcast of the show. In the Tampa Bay area, tune in to WTIS at 1110 AM on your radio dial. To listen to audio archives of Hearts Set Free go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Shows”. Scroll down and press “Hearts Set Free” and then scroll down and press “audio archives.”

Note: 9:00am Sundays is a new time slot for my show.

Below is a link to another blog about depression that was posted on May 28, 2012.

https://elainecreasman.wordpress.com/2012/05/29/arise-and-shine/

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

