Redeemed

“Redeemed” is a word I didn’t use much before reading the Word of God–except in regard to coupons and special offers. I also redeemed S & H green stamps way back when.

But the “redeemed” in the Bible is much bigger than its connection to coupons and books of stamps.

Here is what I found when I looked up the word “redeem” in my Webster’s dictionary: “to buy back, to get or win back; to free from what distresses or harms, to free from captivity by payment or ransom; to release from blame or debt; to free from the consequences of sin; to change for the better; to reform, repair, restore.”

WOW! And to think that Jesus as our redeemer has done all of that for us.

In my Bible dictionary it says: “Redemptiveness connotes deliverance from the enslavement of sin and release to a new freedom. This new freedom is presented in Scripture as always residing in Christ. Man is redeemed from sin to a new life in Christ.”

Then it goes on to say: “The death of Christ is the redemptive price…He took our sinful nature upon Himself in order than He might satisfy the demands of the Law by assuming our guilt.”

1 Peter 3:18 spells this out:

 Christ also suffered for sins once, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God…

A name for God in the Bible, Jehovah-Tsidkenu, which in Hebrew means “The Lord our Righteousness” is closest to meaning Redeemer since it is His righteousness that allows us to be redeemed.

Here are some Scriptures that speak of how our lives are affected as we embrace God as Redeemer:

 Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
    I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
 When you pass through the waters,
    I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
    they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze.
 For I am the Lord your God,
    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior;  Isaiah 43:1-3 NIV

I love those verses and have applied them to many circumstances in my life including my marriage when we have been going through difficult times, and there seems no way through—when it seems that negative circumstances are unredeemable.

Here are two more Scriptures which speak of the power we have through God, our Redeemer:    

Who redeems your life from the pit and corruption, Who beautifies, dignifies, and crowns you with loving-kindness and tender mercy;  Psalm 103:4

Who gave Himself on our behalf that He might redeem us (purchase our freedom) from all iniquity and purify for Himself a people [to be peculiarly His own, people who are] eager and enthusiastic about [living a life that is good and filled with] beneficial deeds. Titus 2:14

Today I have called out to God as Redeemer to remind myself that there is nothing in my life that is wrong that He can’t make right. I am praising Him for redeeming me—for rescuing me from the destructive path I was on before I said “yes” to Jesus as Savior and Redeemer.  With all my heart, I want to continue to say “yes.”

I’ve decided I love the word “redeemed.”  

Here is a song by Big Daddy Weave called “Redeemed.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSyLqbP8Z4I 

To hear more about “Redeemed,” listen to my radio show, Hearts Set Free with Elaine, on Sunday, November 16, 2013 at 9:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “listen live.” Or listen later in the week by going to the archives on the WTIS website which you can access by pressing shows and then Hearts Set Free.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

