Rest in the Lord

A verse that keeps coming to mind lately is

My soul finds rest in God alone (Psalm 62:1 NIV 1984).

God reminded me of this verse because I’ve been facing situations that seem impossible to resolve.

I see loved ones suffering, and I feel helpless to do anything to remedy their situations. There are friends and loved ones who badly need the Lord who have built up walls of resistance that seem miles thick. Physical and mental health issues plague people I care about. Relationship problems in the lives of people I love seem insurmountable.    

Some days when I get caught up in thinking too much about these things, I can echo what Job said in Job 3:26: “I have no peace, no quietness; I have no rest, but only turmoil.”

During Christmas time with its other demands that I too often give in to, rest can seem even more out of reach—even though Jesus came to give us peace.  

God has answers to how we can attain rest for our souls. They can be found in my favorite rest verses:

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him (Psalm 62:1 NIV 1984)

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him (Psalm 62:5).

 Be still and rest in the Lord; wait for Him and patiently lean yourself upon Him; fret not… (Psalm 37:7 AMP).

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty (Psalm 91:1).  

 Return to your rest, O my soul, for the Lord has been good to you (Psalm 116:7)

Isaiah 30:15). 

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls (Jeremiah 6:16).

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. (Matthew 11:28-29)

As I look over these verses, the words related to rest that stand out are: wait, lean, be still, repentance, quietness, trust, come, take, learn.  

I like a quote I heard lately from a Bible teacher. He said, God says to us: “I don’t need your help; I just need trust.” Often I don’t have rest because I’m busy trying to solve things instead of leaving them to the Lord and resting in Him.   

This Christmas season I am determined to give the Lord my problems and rest in Him.

I am reminded of an acronym the Lord gave me years ago: Rest = Release Everything; Simply Trust.

I’m praying the Lord will continue to teach me how to do just that, so I can truly rest in Him.

The radio show on this subject of Resting in the Lord ran at 9:00am EST on Sunday, December 15th at 9:00am. If you want to hear that show, you can go to the radio archives. Go to www.wtis110.com  and click on shows. Scroll down to Hearts Set Free and click. Then go to the bottom right of the page and you will find archives of previous shows.   

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rest in the Lord

  1. Dawn Carter says:

    Thank you. I needed that. I prayed yesterday for Gods peace , not just peace because my life became more peaceful. This is not a peaceful world. We can only find peace through the super natural, which is in Christ.

    Dawn

  2. Julie says:

    I appreciated you blog especially writing out the verses. I need to be reminded to rest in the Lord and trust Him to work in my situations and relationships. Thank you for your encouraging words.

  3. Jane V. Reece says:

    Elaine, you hit another need for me. Many thanks!

  4. Gina Bartley says:

    Elaine, I truly appreciate your words of encouragement. I often find myself feeling so discouraged with the situations around me are entirely out of my control, yet so consuming. They cause me internal pain and suffering and many times are so crippling to me. My soul yearns for rest and peace. I will mediate on the scriptures that you laid out.

    Blessings,
    Gina

    • Gina, Sorry I didn’t reply to your comment when you wrote it. Thank you for taking the time to write it. I’m sorry that you are going through times of discouragement. I’ve learned from experience that it is in times of discouragement and pain and suffering that the Lord meets us in the most real way. I pray for His touch on your life in your present circumstances.

  5. Del says:

    Elaine… so interesting. I couldn’t sleep and just got up to send a thought to my Aglow team.. and your message is so perfect.. you just confirmed all the Lord’s been speaking. “You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trust in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the LORD, the LORD, is the Rock eternal. Isaiah 26:3

    Bless u and Merry Christmas to you and your family…

  6. Admiring the dedication you put into your website and in
    depth information you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same out of date rehashed information. Fantastic read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  7. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to
    your site? My blog is in the exact same area of interest
    as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you
    present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks a lot!

    • Yes, you may repost my blogs on your site. Let me know when they are posted and send me the link if possible. I appreciate your interest and am glad that you too have a heart for helping people to be set free. Take care and God bless.

Leave a Reply

