Rest in the Lord

A verse that keeps coming to mind lately is

My soul finds rest in God alone (Psalm 62:1 NIV 1984).

God reminded me of this verse because I’ve been facing situations that seem impossible to resolve.

I see loved ones suffering, and I feel helpless to do anything to remedy their situations. There are friends and loved ones who badly need the Lord who have built up walls of resistance that seem miles thick. Physical and mental health issues plague people I care about. Relationship problems in the lives of people I love seem insurmountable.    

Some days when I get caught up in thinking too much about these things, I can echo what Job said in Job 3:26:

I have no peace, no quietness; I have no rest, but only turmoil.

During Christmas time with its other demands that I too often give in to, rest can seem even more out of reach—even though Jesus came to give us peace.  

God has answers to how we can attain rest for our souls. They can be found in my favorite rest verses:

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him (Psalm 62:1 NIV 1984).

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. (Psalm 62:5)

Be still and rest in the Lord; wait for Him and patiently lean yourself upon Him; fret not… (salm 37:7 AMP).

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. Psalm 91:1  

 Return to your rest, O my soul, for the Lord has been good to you. Psalm 116:7

…In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength….Isaiah 30:15

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls. Jeremiah 6:16 

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11:28-29

As I look over these verses, the words related to rest that stand out are: wait, lean, be still, repentance, quietness, trust, come, take, learn.  

I like a quote I heard lately from a Bible teacher. He said, God says to us: “I don’t need your help; I just need trust.” Often I don’t have rest because I’m busy trying to solve things instead of leaving them to the Lord and resting in Him.   

This Christmas season I am determined to give the Lord my problems and rest in Him.

I am reminded of an acronym the Lord gave me years ago: Rest = Release Everything; Simply Trust.

I’m praying the Lord will continue to teach me how to do just that, so I can truly rest in Him.

The radio show on this subject of Resting in the Lord ran at 9:00am EST on Sunday, December 15th. If you want to hear tht show, you can go to the radio archives. Go to www.wtis110.com  and click on shows. Scroll down to Hearts Set Free and click. Then go to the bottom right of the page and you will find archives of previous shows.   

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

