Jesus, my King of kings

Lately I’ve been listening to a song that has really touched my heart. It’s called “How Many Kings?” by Downhere.  It reminds me of how much King Jesus gave up to come to earth to save my soul. I confess I can take this for granted. How easily I can forget how much He gave up—how much He sacrificed for me and for all of us.

I’ve listened to this song many times lately, and I’m amazed at what the Lord has done for us. As I watched one of the online videos that went along with the song, I saw the little baby and thought, How could the King of the Universe entrust Himself to the care of mere human beings? Also, He could have come in a grander way. Instead He came in a humble way.

Jesus–the King of all–coming as a baby shows His humble heart. And I’ve discovered that as we submit to Him as King our hearts become humble as well.

Philippians 2:5-11 speaks of this:  

 Let this same attitude and purpose and [humble] mind be in you which was in Christ Jesus… Who, although being essentially one with God and in the form of God…did not think this equality with God was a thing to be eagerly grasped or retained, But stripped Himself [of all privileges and rightful dignity], so as to assume the guise of a servant (slave), in that He became like men and was born a human being. And after He had appeared in human form, He abased and humbled Himself [still further] and carried His obedience to the extreme of death, even the death of the cross! Therefore [because He stooped so low] God has highly exalted Him and has freely bestowed on Him the name that is above every name, That in (at) the name of Jesus every knee should (must) bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, And every tongue [frankly and openly] confess and acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Isn’t it wonderful that one day the whole world will know that Jesus is the King of kings?

I confess that sometimes I don’t live my life as if Jesus is the King of kings. Too often instead of submitting to Him, I try to be in charge. I fail to consult Him through prayer.  I do what comes naturally instead of asking God for the supernatural solution.  

The good news is we have a merciful King who forgives our faults and failings and welcomes us back into His arms as we come boldly to the throne of grace as Hebrews 4:16 instructs.

This Christmas season the challenge God is putting before me is this: Are you willing to put Me in the place of King in every area of your life—your marriage, your job, your finances, your leisure time, your body… and not only bow as an occasional gesture but as a way of life?

When I allow Jesus to be King, life is so much better. When I try to run things, that’s when life is hardest. Life can be hard even when we are submitting to our King, but there is peace and joy in the midst of it. When we are trying to rule things ourselves, we lose that sense of peace and joy.

I praise God for humbling me with this truth through trials.  The learning takes place when I see the disasters that happen when I try to be king.

During this Christmas week, will you join me in asking the Lord how we can honor Him as King of kings?

Here is the link to the song “How Many Kings?” by Downhere.    

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ulY2KPmpMwk

To hear more about Jesus as King of kings, listen to my radio show, Hearts Set Free with Elaine, on Sunday, December 222, 2013 at 9:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or you can listen to this show in the archives at a later date.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

