Kent Crockett Guest Blog

Here is a guest blog by Kent Crockett, author of The Sure Cure for Worry. You can hear my interview with Kent on my radio show, Hearts Set Free, on Sunday, February 9, 2014 at 9:00am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or go to the archives of my shows later and listen from there: http://www.wtis1110.com/hearts-set-free/

     

FOLLOWING YOUR HEART
                                                         
I was a student at Texas A&M University, I was also a member of the Corps of Cadets, which is an ROTC program that trains college students to serve in the armed forces. I had planned to serve in the Air Force after college and possibly make the military my career. At the beginning of my junior year, I signed a contract with the Air Force which obligated me to serve eight years in the military after I graduated.

After receiving my degree from A&M and my Air Force commission, I was told to wait for my orders for my first assignment. During the waiting period, I felt a strong urge to enroll in a seminary for ministry training. That did not make sense because I would soon be leaving for pilot training. In my mind, Mr. Logic was screaming, Are you crazy? How can you attend seminary for three years when you have an eight-year obligation with the Air Force? As soon as you receive that letter, you will have to drop out of school. You will waste a lot of money and look like a fool.

Nevertheless, whenever I prayed, the desire in my heart to attend seminary became even stronger. I knew I needed to trust the Lord with my heart, even though what I was about to do made no sense (see Proverbs 3:5–6). I decided to follow where my heart was leading me. I sent in my application to Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary just before classes were to begin.

At the time, I did not have enough money to pay for my first semester. I knew if God was truly leading me there, He would provide everything I needed. I packed up my car and drove to Fort Worth, Texas, to begin my journey in ministry.

As I attended classes, I knew that God would have to perform a miracle for me to finish my education. Any day, I would receive that letter from the Air Force and would have to drop out of seminary.

Several weeks later, as expected, the letter came in the mail. To my surprise, it was not asking me to report for active duty. Instead, the letter offered to release me from my eight-year active duty obligation!

The Vietnam War had ended, which meant the Air Force did not need as many active duty officers. I could choose between fulfilling my eight-year military commitment in active duty, or I could serve ninety days active duty and then be inactive reserve for the rest of my eight years. That meant I could finish my three-year program in seminary!

I suddenly understood why God wanted me to follow that strong desire within me, even though it seemed like a crazy idea. I had no idea that the Air Force would offer me this option, but the Lord did. And that’s why God communicated His will through such an intense pulling in my heart.

I chose to serve my ninety days during the summer between my first and second years in seminary. I received my master’s degree in theology, which proved to be crucial to everything I would be doing in the future.

Following the desire in my heart proved to be right, even when logic told me it was wrong. My heart overruled my mind. The Lord provided for me in amazing ways and I paid for my education without ever having to borrow a dime.

The Lord wanted to divert my steps in a new direction, so He planted the desire in my heart to pull me a different way. He was under no obligation to give me any additional information other than to trust Him when things did not make sense to me. –excerpt from The Sure Cure for Worry–Chapter 9

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

