I Am Safe

Lately as I thought about how to deal with feeling emotionally unsafe in a relationship, the Lord reminded me of this verse:

The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe (Proverbs 18:10 NIV).

Sometimes people can’t be trusted to respond in loving ways or accept me as I am, but as I trust the Lord I can feel safe. He is my protector, my refuge, the one who keeps me safe.

I’m realizing that one of my responses to feeling unsafe is to react with anger to those who lash out in anger toward me. That is not God’s way.

The bonus of depending on the Lord for emotional safety is that when I do this, I stop withdrawing love from others. I stop responding to hurt with hurting back. I grow in learning to love like Jesus.

Years ago I told a friend that I felt so afraid of being hurt further in a certain relationship. This is the verse she pointed out to me—one I had not read before:

Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe. (Proverbs 29:25 )

The Amplified version adds “and set on high.” What a promise that is—that God puts me above the danger zone. I no longer need to be afraid that someone is going to hurt me beyond repair.

Years ago when I was in counseling to overcome childhood hurts, I talked to my counselor about feeling unsafe in my home growing up. The feeling continued into adulthood in my own home with my husband. My counselor showed me that my sense of feeling safe was not to be in a physical dwelling but in being united to the Lord.

As I thought about this, Psalm 23:6 came to mind.

…through the length of my days the house of the Lord [and His presence] shall be my dwelling place. AMP

 What a difference this promise has made in my feeling secure and safe with the Lord—no matter what’s happening around me.  

Psalm 91 is another place I’ve turned to, so I can embrace promises of safety.  Verse 1 has this promise:

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall remain stable and fixed under the shadow of the Almighty [whose power no foe can withstand] AMP 

There are many more “you are safe” promises which follow in that powerful psalm.  

This week I’m praising God that I can feel safe as I maintain a vital connection to Him. How wonderful that His Word is filled with promises that assure me of this.

Are you feeling emotionally unsafe today? I pray you will turn to the Lord for your sense of safety. He alone is our safe refuge.

Listen to this song “Safe” by Phil Wickham for more assurance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZAUq1-c8dw

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am Safe

  1. As I think more about the whole idea of being safe, I realize that sometimes I am the person that causes others to feel emotionally unsafe. Those are times that I am being controlling or judgmental. Lord, have mercy on me.

  2. Elaine, yes! How grateful we are when the Spirit of Christ Who dwells in the innermost part of us takes authority over our soul (the seat of our emotions) and our body (our fleshly desires and appetites)…truly we ARE safe in His Arms…we can rest there…amen?

Leave a Reply

