Greater Grace

Recently I heard a speaker talk about the term greater grace. He said that no matter what happens in our life, God’s grace is greater. His proclamation was based on James 4:6 which states:

But He gives a greater grace… (NASB)

Sometimes the issues in my life seem huge. I can feel overwhelmed and wonder if I will be able to continue to face them. As embraced this Scripture, I realized  there is only one way hardships of life can be faced effectively–with God’s grace.

Too often I’m busy trying to figure things out on my own—to discover a solution to all the problems that plague my soul. But the answer God gives me again and again is to depend on His grace.

As I pondered the idea of greater grace, the lyrics to an old hymn came to mind.

Grace Greater Than All Our Sin Lyrics: Written by Julia H. Johnston in 1911

Sin and despair, like the sea waves cold,
Threaten the soul with infinite loss;
Grace that is greater, yes, grace untold,
Points to the refuge, the mighty cross.

Refrain
Grace, grace, God’s grace,
Grace that will pardon and cleanse within;
Grace, grace, God’s grace,
Grace that is greater than all our sin. 

Next God reminded me of this truth about His greater grace.

 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. (2 Corinthians 12:9 NIV)

I love the way that verse is spelled out in the Amplified Bible.

 But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me! (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Heather Bixler, a fellow blogger, writes this truth about God’s great grace:  “Our weaknesses may never go away but when we give them to God, His grace will turn them into something beautiful…”  

How often I have seen that happen in my life.

An all-time favorite hymn of many is “Amazing Grace” written by John Newton in 1779

Here is one of my favorite verses that promises God’s greater grace will carry me through.

Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
‘Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far
And grace will lead me home.

God’s greater grace will carry me through anything–if I would only receive it.

Is there something in your life that seems unbearable? Will you embrace the truth that God’s grace is greater than that trouble or heartache? Open your heart to receive His grace. You will be amazed at what follows that decision.

If you are going through grief that seems unbearable after a loved one’s death, check out my friend Sandy Sheppard’s blog. http://graceforagrievingheart.com/  You will be blessed.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

