Peer Pressure by Destiny

Weeks ago my 10-year-old granddaughter, Destiny asked if she could be on my radio show. We’ll wait until summer, I thought, when she is out of school on taping day. But then a month ago, I found out March 28th would be the last taping of my show which would air on March 30th. Too bad, we sighed. Then we realized that Destiny would be out of school for spring break on March 28th. The Lord worked it out. So you can hear my interview with Destiny on Sunday, March 30th at 9:00am EST. Go to http://www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live” or go to the archives later: http://www.wtis1110.com/hearts-set-free/.

Even though my Hearts Set Free radio show is ending, the archives will stay up for awhile. After that they will be available on my website: http://www.elainecreasman.com. My blog will still keep going as well as my Hearts Set Free Marriage TIp of the Week.

With each guest that I interview, I ask that they write a guest blog. Here is what Destiny wrote along with a little editing help from Grandma. She chose the subject of peer pressure. It was a revelation to me when she announced that peer pressure is fear pressure. I had never thought of it that way, but how true. Here’s Destiny…  

 

Peer pressure is fear pressure.

Peer pressure can happen when someone urges you to do something. For example, if your friends urge you to cheat on a test, that makes you nervous thus causing peer pressure.

Peer pressure also happens when someone gives in to bullying to fit into the group, so later they put pressure on themself by worrying, “Will the person who bullies bully me?”

One time my friend was being talked about by some of her friends. I put pressure on myself by asking myself, “Should I tell her that she was being talked about?” We went to those friends together and worked it out.

How do you deal with peer pressure?

You ask God.

You read the Bible.

You choose friends that urge you to do the right thing.

There is such a thing as positive peer pressure.

–Getting good grades.

–Giving gifts.

–Being kind with words and actions.

–Obeying the rules.

Different ways there is peer pressure to do the wrong thing:

–the way you dress.

–breaking the rules.

–movies you watch.

–music you listen to.

gossiping.

Ones I have not faced yet are:

–smoking cigarettes.

–having sex.

–taking drugs.

My plan on these is to walk away.

In my classroom I am able to not give in to bad peer pressure because I don’t want to let down my teacher by doing what I shouldn’t do. I don’t want to disappoint her.

One verse that helps me with peer pressure/fear pressure is 2 Timothy 1:7

For God has not given us a spirit of fearfulness, but one of power, love, and sound judgment. (HCSB)

Saul was a part of peer pressure because he was involved when they killed Stephen.

And Saul was there, giving approval to his death. Acts 8:1 NIV

Saul–sin.  Paul–pray. 

Don’t forget on peer pressure:

Ask God.

Read your Bible.

Choose friends who urge you to do the right thing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Lose My Soul” by Toby Mac.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7HM57XX-nQ

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Peer Pressure by Destiny

  1. Fran Sandin says:

    Destiny has made a wise choice in relying upon God and choosing friends who encourage her to do the right thing. That will help her keep her eyes upon Jesus for strength and courage in the years to come. Thanks for sharing!
    Fran Sandin

  2. Sue Winner says:

    Precious Destiny: it sounds like you’ve inherited your Grandma’s wisdom and gift for speaking truth – your words struck me as your Grandmother’s always have – succinct, to the point, and having the effect of the “piercing, double-edged sword of the Word”. God bless you dear girl, I’m planning on sharing your wise insights and pure heart intentions with my 15 year-old, and I expect they will build up her faith, as they did mine. Your Destiny is to “know God and to make Him known” (still on a mountaintop from seeing “Casting Crowns” last night! Glory! Miss Sue

  3. Mary Ardis says:

    Wow! what a treat to hear this great lesson on peer pressure presented by a grandmother and granddaughter! Destiny chose one my favoitre songs too by Toby Mac! I plan to share this message with my grandson. God Bless You both in your journey of Faith. I have a feeling God has big plans for Destiny and for Elaine in the years to come. Mary Ardis

    • Dear Mary, Thank you for your comment. Destiny does have a gift with words–both written and spoken. She speaks truth to me at times when I am believing lies, and I am humbled that God is using a child to help me to continue to grow. I pray God will help her to keep her eyes on Him. I thank God regularly for giving me a granddaughter. What a blessing.

Leave a Reply

