Running the Race

Today I ran in a 5K race again.

Near the beginning I asked myself, “Why am I doing this? I’m already out of breath, and my body would rather be in bed then on this course exerting much more energy than most 60-year-olds I know.

But as I ran, I compared the race to my life. Often I don’t feel like moving on. I’d rather just stay in bed and be depressed or laze around refusing to accomplish anything significant. Some days I’m just strolling casually along as if I’m not even in a race.

God has called me to so much more. He’s called me to enter fully into the race called my Christian life, and He has marked out the course for me just as the team of volunteers at the Turtle Trot race painstakingly marked out the course for the runners. He desires that I run diligently.

One of the highlights of this particular race was that there was someone running in front of me who was around my age who ran at a good clip. My goal was to keep up with her. I compared her to fellow Christians who are running a good race and showing me how to do so.

Throughout the race I kept at a pace with this lady whose name I found out later is Bonnie. Without her I would not have run the race I did. She helped me to finish and finish well. I made my best time and felt excited about entering more races in the future to improve my time and endurance—just as I want to move on in this race called my Christian life and become more like Christ.

I am inspired by what the Word says about the Christian life as a race:

However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace (Acts 20:24 NIV).

…And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us (Hebrews 4:1).

During the race I ran today, things did get rough at times. At one point I called out, “Help me, Jesus.” I do the same in the race of life. I also recited Scripture verses today while I ran like

I will run in the path of your commands for you have set my heart free (Psalm 119:32 NIV).

Seeking God through His Word keeps me strong as I move on in my life race.

I wore a shirt today while I ran with these words on it: “Jesus is the anchor of my soul.” How true that is. I count on Him to help me make it victoriously to the finish line. Then I can say,

I have fought the good fight. I have finished the race. I have kept the faith (2 Timothy 4:7).

How I long for the Lord to say in reply,

Well done,good and faithful servant (Matthew 25:23).

What a glorious day that will be.

How about you? Are you running your life’s race effectively for the Lord? Do you have other runners who are setting the pace for you and showing you how it’s done? Call out to Jesus, and He will help you.

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running the Race

  1. Julie says:

    What an encouragement that I needed! Thanks, and congratulations on running
    the race!

  2. Julie, thanks for your comment. God bless you in “running your race.”

Leave a Reply

