Living In The Present

Lately I keep going on little side trips down memory lane. 

These are not useful journeys since what I’m doing is remembering what I’ve done wrong in the past and what others have done to me. 

My heart can easily get wrapped up in guilt, shame, blame, and resentment when I travel to the past in my thought life. 

Lately, when I start to do this, there is a firm voice in my mind, (I’d like to say it’s the Holy Spirit) which says, “That is in the past; leave it there.” 

How grateful I am for that reminder. Too much of my life has been spent going into the past and regretting and resenting. 

Today as I looked at some quotes online, these two were presented which speak to this lifelong battle I’ve had. 

“Wherever you are, be all there.” This quote by the missionary, Jim Elliot, reminds me that if I go back and live in regret or resentment, I cannot fully enjoy and participate in the present. 

Another quote that echoes the truths the Lord is reminding me of this week is this: “The past is behind. We must learn from it. The future is ahead. We must prepare for it. The present is now. We must live in it.” 

That is my goal—to live in the present and stop looking back at my sins and the sins of those who have hurt me. Today I choose to fully receive God’s forgiveness and to pass it along to others. I embrace with all of my heart 1 John 1:9: 

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. (ESV) 

and Ephesians 4:32 

Be kind to one another, tenderhearted,forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.

How much more joy I will have as I do this. I’m discovering there is joy in His presence, but also joy in the present. 

How about you? Do you take destructive journeys into your past? Are you willing to live in the present and forgive yourself and others for what happened in days gone by? Joy will follow. 

Here is a song that always ministers to me when I am caught in feeling guilty about the past. It it “What Sin?” by Morgan Cryar 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zdMWyDyIPaE 

Note: I believe the line that says, “weak this way” should read “weep this way.” Receive His truth.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Living In The Present

  1. Julie says:

    Thank you, Elaine, as always your words speak truth to me.

  2. Jane V. Reece says:

    You never fail to minister to me. Many thanks!

  3. ThornRose7@aol.com says:

    I just found this and it was just what I needed for today. Thank you so much. Can’t go into it, just need prayers for this appointment with my daughter tonight.

  4. Delicious says:

    Can you forgive others? Should you also forgive yourself? I’m glad the Holy Spirit has been there to help us. Where would I be?
    Thanks Elaine for sharing.

    • Dear Delicious, thanks for your comment. Forgiving ourselves and others is vital. And I agree that we can’t do it without God’s help. When I think of where I’d be if God didn’t show me the need to forgive, it’s scary to think where I’d be–a bitter, mean woman or maybe even dead.

  5. keijo says:

    so fantasic that forget what is behind and living present the day with new joy in every the morning with grace and help to move on in different experience and duty to be upfild in love our the lord and his the word to meditte and growing in Christ with be like as him in the Holy Spirits power ,thanks and bless,keijo sweden

Leave a Reply

