Staying In The Light

Because of my battle with depression and negativity, I too often feel as if I am slipping into darkness. I can forget that because I have Christ in me, I have light in me which can shine into every dark corner of my life. The enemy wants me to forget this—to convince me that it is not true.  He want to keep this light from shining in me and through me into the lives of others.

This verse is such an encouragement to me:

…God is Light, and there is no darkness in Him at all [no, not in any way]. 1 John 1:5 AMP

Recently I found a poem that I had written years ago that is titled “Light.” This poem reminds me of truths about staying in the light.

I shared this poem with a group of women recently. One said she wished her son could read that poem. What I felt she meant is “I wish he could receive the truth in that poem.” Many of us have relatives and other loved ones living in darkness. Today I pray that God will keep me in the light, so that I can shine His light into other people’s lives—especially those who are totally in the dark. I may slip into the dark at times, but there are many who live there.  

Will you join me in staying in the light and helping to bring others into the light of Christ?

 

Lord, I confess that some days

I allow myself to slip back into darkness.

I feel unable to bar the door, and

negative thoughts and feelings rush in.

They bring their lies and sell me on them—

lies that say You are not there,

and You don’t give a care

about all I’m suffering—all I’m going through.

 

Today as I face yet another hurt,

yet another heartache, I will not let

these intruders into my mind and heart.

Now I know that I cannot keep them

and their dark lies out in my own strength,

but with Your help I will keep them at bay,

for You are my light in this dark night.

You are with me, even though my

soul says, “Your God is not near.”

I will hold to Your promise that

You are light, and in You there

is no darkness at all.

I will rejoice

that if You are in me,

which You promise to be,

then I can be filled with light

and declare “In me there

is no darkness at all.”

Thank You, kind Lord for

being my light in darkness.  

 

This is one of my favorite songs about being in the light. It is “Pushing Back The Dark” by Josh Wilson.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fF61jnKDyGg

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Staying In The Light

  1. keijo says:

    Hello with joy to found this site and be inspirer to respond in faith with the light now with us by Christ and in him is no darkness or wrong to experience but allthings are to be yes and and yes with the Holy Spirit with us in love of God,thanks and bless and pray,keijo sweden

  2. Rick says:

    I also know the problems of depression … they are hard and treatment is different for each person! I have no idea but I can pray for you as I pray for myself and others! Sending you God’s blessings as well! Rick Carter

    • Dear Rick, Thank you for your comment. Even though I battle depression, God gives me victory again and again. In former days, I was ruled by my depressing thoughts and feelings. What a joy that I now I have a choice. There are so many plagued with depression. Medications work for some, but they are for the symptoms and not necessarily to deal with the source. Jesus is our ultimate healer. Yes, let’s keep on praying for those who are suffering that they will find the answer–in Him.

Leave a Reply

