Song Therapy Time

One truth I’ve been reminded of in recent months–especially in hard times–is how much I depend on my feelings instead of relying on my faith in God. These feelings, which are fed by negative thoughts and lies by the enemy, can seem so real.

Lately God has had me capture these feelings and then counter them with verses from Scripture. And since I love music and it ministers to me so much, a song also comes to mind which proclaims the truth from Scripture.  Often I pass these songs along since God has even given me the privilege of being an amateur song therapist where I get to minister to the mentally ill and others who are going through difficult times.  

Here is a list of seven negative thoughts/feelings I’ve battled so far this year. Since this list has a song with each, you may choose to listen to one song each day this week. Or you can go through them all in one sitting and feel overwhelmed by how much God loves us and cares for us.  

The question for all of us is: will I depend on my feelings or my faith? I want to choose faith more often and more quickly.

 

What I feel: I feel unwanted.

Truth: I am wanted by God.

Verse from God’s Word to back up this truth:  Behold…I will deal with all those who afflict you; I will save the limping [ones] and gather the outcasts and will make them a praise and a name in every land of their shame (Zephaniah 3:10 AMP).   

Song:  “Wanted” Dara Maclean  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zarimIztNUM

 

What I feel: I feel comfortless.

Truth: I am comforted by God.

Verses from God’s Word to back up this truth:  Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles… (2 Corinthians 1:3-4 NIV)

Song:  “Held” by Natalie Grant  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABjNDl2z7sA

 

>What I feel: I feel unsafe.

Truth: I am safe with God.

Verse from God’s Word to back up this truth:  The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe (Proverbs 18:10 NIV).  

Song: Safe in His Arms by Phil Wickham  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZAUq1-c8dw

 

What I feel: I feel alone.

Truth: I am with God, and He is with me.

Verse from God’s Word to back up this truth:  Never will I leave you;  never will I forsake you (Hebrews 13:5 NIV).

From the Amplified Bible: for He [God]Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]

Song: “He Is With Us” by Love and the Outcome  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6mEQS2fsWE

 

What I feel: I feel everyone is against me.

Truth: I am protected by God.

Verse from God’s Word to back up this truth: If God is for us, who can be against us? Romans 8:31 NIV

Song:  “Whom Shall I Fear?” by Chris Tomlin http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0gu0nOaFsI

 

What I feel: I feel unforgiven.

Truth: I am forgiven by God.

Verse from God’s Word to back up this truth: If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9 ESV

Song:  “Forgiven” by Sanctus Real  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRKAXU1Fjic

 

What I feel: I feel unloved.

Truth: I am loved by God.  

Verse:  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39 NIV

Song:  “Oh, How He Loves Us” by The Dave Crowder band

 

How about you? Will you choose to be directed by your feelings or your faith and truth from God’s Word?  If you choose the latter, you will be blessed in a mighty way.

Next week, I will have seven more “I feel” vs “the truth” statements.

Note: please excuse any ads that may come up with these songs. I try to choose those with no ads, but they change and sometimes they are bordering on inappropriate. Pray for those who are in bondage to whatever may be mentioned in the ads—like those that are about alcohol.

 

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Song Therapy Time

  1. Oops, I forget to put the link to the Dave Crowder song. Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxTOsQ3LDE4

  2. Rick Carter says:

    Can’t thank you enough for your sharing … What has helped me most the past two years is facing the mirror by Daphne Delay … Forgiving oneself is so hard! This is particularly so when you FEEL so terrible – it is overwhelming … facing the mirror makes you or can help you to face the facts and those eventually help you see truth and the feelings change and align more with the truth … for me …

    • Dear Rick, I will check out Facing the Mirror by Daphne Delay. Years ago a counselor said that no where in Scripture does it say that we must forgive ourselves. It says that we must receive His forgiveness. (See 1 John 1:9). I’ve realized that sometimes I have a hard time receiving all that God has for me including forgiveness. I pray that for you and all of us– that we will receive all He has for us.

  3. Fran Sandin says:

    I, too, love music because when words fail, music speaks to the soul. One night as I was caring for my adult son struggling to breathe due to complications of cystic fibrosis, I cried out in my heart to the Lord and said, “I cannot bear this burden!” To which He replied, “You don’t have to.” And I immediately remembered a hymn I learned from the old Cokesbury hymnal–“Jesus took my burden I could no longer bear. Jesus took my burden in answer to my prayer. My anxious fears subsided, my spirit was made strong–for Jesus took my burden and left me with a song.” I sang it aloud for Steve to hear. We prayed, did the pulmonary treatments, and he made it through the night. It was a powerful reminder from the Holy Spirit–that we are never alone–and because Jesus cares, He brought that song from my childhood to my remembrance at just the right time. Thanks, Elaine, for reminding us that He can speak to us through music.
    Fran Sandin

    • Dear Fran, thank you for your comment. I had not heard of that song, but I will look for the chords to it, so I can learn to play it. The words are wonderful.
      God is so good to give us songs when we need them.

Leave a Reply

