Song Therapy–Part Two

In my last blog, I wrote about how I too often give in to believing my feelings instead of being led by my faith. This is a battle I’ve been engaged in most of my life. Even as a Christian I can still feel convinced that my feelings are more real than the truths in God’s Word.

This is why immersing myself in Scripture daily is so important. As I read, memorize, study, and mediate on God’s Word, it becomes more real than my untrustworthy feelings.

Once again I came up with seven ways that I can feel when going through hard times. Even recently I have felt all of these. Listening to the songs as I prepared this blog has built my faith and encouraged me as the enemy as whispered such lies as, “There is no hope” in regard to various circumstances.

You may want to take one little section each day of the week and listen to the song that goes with it. As I wrote before, songs that echo the truths of God’s Word have helped me to get them deep into my heart. I pray that they will help you to do the same.

 

My feeling: I feel defeated.

Truth: I am an overcomer.

Truth from God’s Word: I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world. John 16:33 ESV

Song: “Overcomer” my Mandisa http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xw5FuvScrr4 

 

My feeling: I feel too weak to handle this.

Truth: I am strong in the Lord.

Truth from God’s Word: I can do everything through him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13 NIV 1984

Song: “Strong Enough” by Matthew West http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCJNZydWoOg

 

My feeling: I feel too afraid to go on.

Truth: I can overcome my fears with God’s help.

Truth from God’s Word: Fear not [there is nothing to fear], for I am with you; do not look around you in terror and be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen and harden you to difficulties, yes, I will help you; yes, I will hold you up and retain you with my [victorious] right hand of righteousness and justice. Isaiah 41:10 AMP

Song: “What Faith Can Do” by Kutless http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ur6Zznc407U

 

My feeling: I feel hopeless in this trial.

Truth: I can find an endless supply of hope from the Lord.

Truth from God’s Word: For in You, O Lord, do I hope; You will answer, O Lord my God. Psalm 38:15

Song: “My Hope Is In You” by Aaron Shust http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RRZgr7wNDs

 

My feeling: I feel overwhelmed by all I’m going through.

Truth: God will help me when I feel overwhelmed.

Truth from God’s Word: From the end of the earth will I cry to You, when my heart is overwhelmed and fainting; lead me to the rock that is higher than I… Psalm 61:2 AMP

Song: “Oceans” by Hillsong http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2PNTq_-mZs

 

Feeling: I feel my prayers aren’t being answered.

Truth: God hears and answers my prayers—in His way and time.

Truth from God’s Word: And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. 1 John 5:14 ESV

Song: “Blessings” by Laura Story http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmcKWvOQZqY

 

Feeling: I feel ugly inside.

Truth: I am beautiful in God’s eyes.

Truth from God’s Word: For the LORD see not as man sees; for man looks on the outward appearance, but the LORD looks on the hearts. 1 Samuel 16:7 AMP

Song: “Beautiful” by Mercy Me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7C2o0jHNRuU&list=RD7C2o0jHNRuU

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Song Therapy–Part Two

  1. tamandtauzer says:

    Loved this post of yours. I listen to KSGN and Air 1 and these songs uplift me daily. Songs can really help a struggling soul. I loved the way you connected the feeling with the scripture with the song! Brilliant, cousin. xoxoxo

    • Dear Tamara, Thanks for your comment. Would you do me a favor? If you hear a song that really speaks to your soul and encourages you, please send me the link. I am always looking for new songs to listen to and pass along. Thanks for calling me brilliant. I want to be brilliant for the Lord–shining brightly for Him.

  2. Molly Grigg says:

    Agree that describing the feeling, the contrasting truth, and then linking the truth to a song makes for a brilliant post. I’m saving AND forwarding this one.

    • Dear Molly, Thanks for your comment and thanks for forwarding the blog. God gives us so many tools to help us be free. More and more He is using songs in my life. And passing those songs along seems to be part of the process.

Leave a Reply

