Your Word Was Found Part 2

Last week I wrote about how God ministered to me by allowing me to “find His Word” in the form of Bible verses on folded pieces of paper in my cupboard. These verses have been encouraging me as I go through a storm in life that seems to have no end in sight.

To see the first seven verses that lifted my spirits, see last week’s blog.

Here are the verses that I read and embraced recently. You may want to take one for each day of the week and meditate on it.

Day 8 … He has torn us to pieces but he will heal us; he has injured us but he will bind up our wounds. Hosea 6:1 NIV

When I first read this verse from Hosea, I decided that the way God tears me to pieces is with the truth when I’ve been believing lies. Yet once He presents truth, and it hurts so much, He does bind up those wounds. One of the lies that I have believed is that I can control the behavior of others. He keeps reminding me of the truth that I am not in control. He is.

A quote I read years ago from a fellow writer that goes along with this verse went something like this: “The truth will set you free, but first it will make you miserable.”

Day 9 Fear not; [there is nothing to fear] for I am with you; do not look around you in terror and be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and harden you [to difficulties]; yes I will help you; yes, I will hold you up and retain you with My victorious right hand of rightness and justice. Isaiah 41:10 AMP

This verse is my life verse, and God knows I need to be reminded of it again and again because I so often give in to fear. Lately I find myself dreading what may happen in the future, but when I read this verse I see that God will help me through whatever I or my family have to face.

Day 10 The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles. Psalm 34:17 NIV

What a wonderful promise that is. I may go through troubles but God helps me through.

Day 11 Looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith… Hebrews 12:2 KJV

I confess that too often I don’t keep my eyes on Jesus. Instead I focus on problems and become overwhelmed by “what ifs.”

Day 12 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13 NKJV

Too often I try to live the Christian life in my own strength. This verse reminds me to depend on Jesus for strength to accomplish what seems impossible.

Day 13 …Fear not, Elaine, (The Bible says “Zion”) let not your hands grow weak. The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness, he will quiet you by his love, he will exult over you with loud singing. Zephaniah 3:16-17 ESV

Zephaniah 3:17 is one of my favorite verses. When my soul is shouting negative statements based in fear, I am reminded that God will quiet me with His love. And what a beautiful picture this is: God rejoices over me with gladness and loud singing. I think of the joy that a mother has over her newborn baby. God has that joy over me forever.

Every word of God is pure; He is a shield unto them that put their trust in him Psalms 30:15 KJV

The day I read this verse, someone had lashed out at me and said cruel words. God reminded me of the truth—that he is the shield that can protect me from receiving those words and taking them to heart.

I want life to be smooth, but often there are rough waters. If I desire to make it safely to shore, I need to depend on the Lord. That’s impossible to do without depending on His Word. Today I am celebrating how wonderful the Word of God is. Most important is that it reminds me how wonderful He is and how much He loves and cares about me.

Here is the link to a song that has lifted my spirits again and again in recent weeks and echoes truths from God’s Word. When I listen I even want to break into a dance of joy. God is so faithful.

“My Lighthouse” by Rend Collective

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Your Word Was Found Part 2

  1. My favorite blog today; Elaine this was even better than part one:)

    • Thanks, Donna. This time I commented on each verse. God has been reminding me that sometimes we take His Word for granted. My goal is to be refreshed by His Word each time I read it as if it is the first time. He and His Word are so wonderful.

Leave a Reply

