Worn

“I’m worn out.”

How often that’s the declaration of my soul. In the midst of working with acutely mentally ill patients, dealing with physical, emotional, and spiritual issues in my own life and with crises in the lives of family members and other loved ones, it seems on some days I will not recover from my weariness.

At times I wake up in the morning and think I can’t work another day in this demanding job or I cannot bear to hear any more bad news from people I love and care deeply about.

I also feel worn out when I turn on the television and hear about racism, sexual assault, murder, and other evils of this world.

Weariness can come just from a busy schedule, so it’s is a common danger for me during the holiday season.

The dictionary says of the word “worn”: damaged and shabby as a result of much use, threadbare, tattered, holey, falling to pieces, frayed, well-used, moth-eaten, scruffy, having seen better days, tatty, ratty, ragged, the worse for wear, raggedy, dog-eared, diminished in value or usefulness through wear, use or handling, wearied.

Too often when I’m feeling worn and weary, I do things that add to my problem—like cutting back on exercising, failing to eat right, and talking and thinking about being worn out.

Entering this holiday season feeling worn with out-of-town company soon to arrive, I called out to the Lord. I discovered that is a vital key to dealing with the issue.

It’s OK to feel worn, but I believe God doesn’t want me to stay there.

Time with Him and being reminded of His promises along with being refreshed and restored are wonderful cures for feeling worn. It’s amazing that even when my feeling weary and worn is physical, God’s Word can energize me.

Here are a few Scripture verses God gave me. Just meditating on them refreshed my soul:

He makes me lie down in [fresh, tender] green pastures; He leads me beside the still and restful waters. He refreshes and restores my life (my self)… Psalm 23:2-3 AMP

But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun]; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired. Isaiah 40:31

For the Word that God speaks is alive and full of power [making it active, operative, energizing, and effective]; it is sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating to the dividing line of the breath of life (soul) and [the immortal] spirit, and of joints and marrow [of the deepest parts of our nature], exposing and sifting and analyzing and judging the very thoughts and purposes of the heart. Hebrews 4:12 (Italics mine)

As I sit here writing, I know that at any moment God can bring another verse to mind that will help me to deal with my at times threadbare soul. What a comfort that is.

I imagine Mary felt worn after traveling to Bethlehem and giving birth in a manger when there was no room in the inn. But I know as she looked to Him and called out to her great God, He ministered to her and whispered sweet words of comfort to her soul just as He does with us.

If we would only listen.

Lord, help us to hear You during this holiday season and throughout the year. Let us see that You alone are the healing balm for our weary souls. Thank You for always being there and for all You have for us and all You’ve done for us. Give us the grace to receive from You, our sweet and generous God. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Here is a song about feeling worn that God has used to lift me up in recent days. He is so good.

“Worn” by Tenth Avenue North

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Worn

  1. Elaine, I suspect many members of our Christian Poets & Writers group on Facebook will identify with this. I sure do! So I’ll highlight the post on the Christian Poets & Writers blog – http://christianpoetsandwriters.blogspot.com. God bless.

  2. Delicious says:

    Yes Elaine, Jesus is the reason for the season. Another verse says, the Joy of The Lord I’d my strength. Check this song too: If it had not been for The Lord on my side, tell me where would I be, where would I be?

Leave a Reply

