Overwhelmed

Overwhelmed.

It’s a feeling I tend to get on a regular basis when it comes to negative emotions. When circumstances in life become difficult, I can feel overwhelmed by depression, anger, fear or all three.

Recently as I listened to a song on the radio, I thought of a cure for feeling overwhelmed. The song titled “Overwhelmed” speaks of being overcome by how great God is.

Instead of doing this, I’m too often overwhelmed by emotions when being bombarded by negative circumstances beyond my control. God spoke this truth to my heart recently: You will feel that way less often if you keep your eyes on Me and stay in a state of worship, remembering that I am always in control.

Being overwhelmed by His greatness—by His beauty, by all He is and all He has done–causes my problems to look much smaller.

When I keep reminding myself how great God is and magnify Him and His name instead of magnifying the problems in life, I can maintain a sense of peace. I then allow the Holy Spirit to shine through me and influence others instead of letting my fear, sadness, and anger spill onto those around me bringing them down along with me.

When times are hard, the temptation to withdraw from the Lord can overtake me.

“After all, He’s not doing anything to change this crisis,” can be my excuse.

Sometimes I’ve prayed for years, and I become weary of praying, so I back away and try to do something “on my own.”

This is what contributes to those feelings of being overwhelmed.

Today I looked up the word, “overwhelmed.”

I read, “to cover or bury beneath a mass of something, as floodwaters, debris, or an avalanche; submerge, to load, heap, treat, or address with an overpowering amount of anything.”

Yes, that’s how I can feel: buried, submerged, overpowered.

Thank God there is a way out of these feelings—keeping my eyes on the Lord and recalling His faithfulness and how overwhelmingly wonderful He is.

Today, Lord, help me to choose to be overwhelmed by You and not by the difficulties in my life. And “when my heart is overwhelmed and fainting; lead me to the rock that is higher than I…” (Psalm 61:2 NIV) Let me always remember that You are my Rock.

Please allow this song to help you be overwhelmed by the Lord.

“Overwhelmed” by Big Daddy Weave

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

