He Knows

When going through a hard time, I can have an obsessive need to talk about my problems and the ache in my heart.

I’ve got to let people know, my mind insists.

Yet I’ve realized that telling a lot of people my troubles doesn’t help. Sometimes confiding in others can make things worse. People make wrong assessments of the circumstances and incorrect judgments about me.

Without consulting the Lord, they tell me what to do. And their instructions can be contrary to the Word of God—even though they proclaim to be Christians.

I am reminded of various times when I have told people about problems in my marriage only to have them say, “You need to get a divorce.”

Because I wasn’t careful who I decided “to let know” my issues, the “you need to get a divorce” urging has often been followed by “like I did.”

There are times God desires that I let others know my troubles ie for the purpose of prayer or to be transparent to proclaim to these individuals later how faithful God has been.

The important fact God has been reminding me of is this:

He knows.

God knows my every heartache. He sees when I cry and when I feel discouraged and desperate.

Lately the fact that God knows has been such a comfort to me, especially as I heard it expressed in a song by Jeremy Camp.

Often God gives me the instruction to “pray more than say.” And as I do so by pouring my heart out to the Lord instead of just to people, (See Psalm 62:8 AMP) I receive the assurance that He knows.

And as I search the Scriptures, He brings me to verses that shout to my soul, “Your God knows.”

Here’s one of them:

“I will be glad and rejoice in Your mercy and steadfast love, because You have seen my affliction, You have taken note of my life’s distresses” (Psalm 31:7 AMP).

These days as I battle disappointment and disillusionment, I choose to draw close to God. For there is no one in the universe but God who knows everything about me and all I’m going through.

Today I’m celebrating this wonderful truth.

He knows.

Will you join me?

Here is link to the song, “He Knows” by Jeremy Camp:

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

