My Desire: A Soul on Fire

Recently I worked with a fellow songwriter putting the chords to a song I wrote a number of years ago on the National Day of Prayer.

Also I’ve been hearing two songs on the radio that have to do with the same subject: a soul on fire.

Sometimes I say the prayer, “Lord, I want to be on fire for You.” I see this as having a passion for the Lord, putting Him first, fully obeying everything He calls me to do.

I confess some days my passion for the Lord wanes. Weariness leads to letting the flesh take over, and I go through the motions of living and serving. It seems I lose my vital connection with the Lord. I’m listless instead of listening to and for His voice.

I see Christians around me in this same condition.

The song I wrote back when is a corporate prayer to the Lord to relight the fire in our souls.

Light our fires, Lord.
Our embers are burning low.
Bring Your holy flame;
burn away our shame
and set our hearts aglow.

Light our fires, Lord.
We’re sad that they’re so dim.
Give us Jesus’ fire;
renew our desires,
so we can honor Him.

As I’ve been contemplating this whole issue, I realize that being on fire for the Lord ties in with being filled with and led by the Holy Spirit. After all, the Holy Spirit came to the apostles on Pentacost in the form of flames. When I’m on fire for the Lord, I’m letting the Holy Spirit take the lead. When my fire is growing dim, my flesh has taken over.

Do I dare say the prayer again, “Lord, let Your fire fall on me. I want to be a soul on fire for You?”

There is a cost to this prayer. Pain is involved. Here are some verses that have to do with fire.

“For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ. If anyone builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, their work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each person’s work. If what has been built survives, the builder will receive a reward. If it is burned up, the builder will suffer loss but yet will be saved—even though only as one escaping through the flames.” 1 Corinthians 3:11-14 NIV

These verses speak of our works being judged on “the Day,” but it has been my experience that as I pray, “Lord, let Your fire fall,” He uses His holy fire to judge my works now and to burn away anything that is not of Him.

On the other side of this process, my passion for Him is renewed.

So today, Lord, I ask You to let Your fire fall into my life. Burn away anything that is not of You. Let my passion for You be renewed, so that I’m living my life fully for You. Let Your holy fire free me, so I can be all You have called me to be—a soul on fire for You. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

How about you? Is your heart’s desire to have your soul be on fire for the Lord and to serve Him with all that is within You? Will you dare to say a prayer requesting that from Him?

Here are three songs on the subject. The first two have been playing on the radio lately, and the third is a worship song I sang often in church years ago.

“Soul on Fire” by Third Day

“Start A Fire” by Unspoken https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HY3mpbE9SJ4

“Let Your Fire Fall” by Paul Wilbur

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Desire: A Soul on Fire

  1. Judy says:

    This is very invigorating. We all need this boost once in a while. Thank you, Elaine, for your wisdom and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

