Learning To Savor

Recently as I was thinking about how I could eat less and get my weight back under control, these words came to mind.

“Savor the flavor.”

I realized that often lately when I ate, I gulped food down quickly, not taking the time to enjoy the taste of it. This was one of the reasons I tended to eat too much and yet found minimal enjoyment or satisfaction from food.

I’ll admit I have a problem with emotional eating. People like me who turn to food searching for some kind of emotional fulfillment or comfort are looking to feel better from eating, but forget to taste the foods we consume. Too often we will even continue to eat something that doesn’t taste good.

As I’ve been savoring the flavor of food lately, I’ve lost five pounds. I eat less because I enjoy what I’m eating. Aren’t peaches amazing? I still eat sweet treats, but much less of them. Also, I’m looking to the Lord to deal with my emotional turmoil.

Yesterday I decided I needed to apply “savor the flavor” to my spiritual life. Often I consume large portions of Scripture and spend time with God in prayer, but I fail to consistently savor my experiences with the Lord.

I take Bible verses for granted instead of celebrating this fact, “Wow; that promise applies to me!”

Today I looked up “savor” in the dictionary. This is what I read: “taste (good food or drink) and enjoy it completely” and “enjoy or appreciate (something pleasant) completely, especially by dwelling on it.”

I long to dwell on a consistent basis more deeply and fully on the Lord rather than having quick or distracted times of prayer and fleeting words of worship—going through the motions of devotions.

The verse that came to mind as I thought about this is Psalm 34:8: “Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.” (NIV)

Am I really tasting the Lord in my present walk with Him? What does that even mean?

In the Bible Hub commentary I read this:

“in calling us to taste and see this, the psalmist means that we should seriously, thoroughly, and affectionately consider it, and make trial of it by our own experience; which is opposed to those slight and vanishing thoughts that men usually have of the divine goodness. It is not sufficient that we find him to be a bountiful benefactor to us, but we must relish and take delight in his goodness manifested in and by his gifts, and in the contemplation of his infinite perfections and boundless love; and must be so convinced and persuaded of his goodness, as thereby to be encouraged, in the worst of times, to trust in him, and cast our care upon him.”

The conclusion I have come to is that if I’m doubting His goodness or wondering if He really cares about me, I’m not “tasting” Him, which I see as being in deep union with Him. The Word and delving deeply into it is key to becoming or returning to being more vitally connected to Him.

Jeremiah 15:16 one of my favorite verses about this pursuit. “Your words were found, and I ate them, and your words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart…”

As I let go of doubt and allow God’s Word to penetrate the deepest layers of my soul, His promise is that I will have joy and delight.

I’m going to savor that thought for a while.

Here’s a song to enter into fully and savor:

“O Taste and See” by Brian and Jenn Johnson

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning To Savor

  1. Excellent word, Elaine. As Christian Poets & Writers, we need to read the Bible, cover to cover, to get the full sweep of God’s word and work in our lives. Doing this often will also help us to be accurate, and often, new insights will arise. That said, savoring time with a single verse or Bible story draws us closer to God, so I pray that other members of our Facebook group will see your post and receive a re-awakening with each slow reading of God’s Word. To encourage this, I’ll highlight your post on the Christian Poets & Writers blog – http://www.christianpoetsandwriters.com. God bless.

    • Dear Mary, thank you for your comment and for featuring my post on the Christian Poets & Writers blog. It’s so true that we writers need to savor God’s Word even more than other people, so we can accurately present truth to others.

  2. Fran Sandin says:

    Thanks, Elaine, for your insights. We all face many daily distractions, and spending time in God’s Word, savoring it, as a priority will strengthen us for every task. The times in my life when I have been discouraged,– even grieving–spending time with the Lord and His Word was the only thing that revived my heart. God bless you for sharing.

    • Dear Fran, thanks for your comment. Your have been through great trials in your life, and it encourages me to know that the Lord and His Word has been your means of revival. I admit that too often I’m looking for revival elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

