Do Not Listen to Your Eyes

“Do not listen to your eyes,” said Marie, my Bible study teacher, not long ago.

Too often that’s just what I do. I believe what my eyes see rather than holding to what God says. This can cause me to sink into despair as I look at what’s happening around me. I can forget God’s promises and instead look at all the bad that’s unfolding on the premises.

Here’s the little note I wrote to myself in my journal after Marie exhorted us. “Elaine, you pay too much attention to what you see. Don’t trust your eyes. Trust your spirit and the Holy Spirit.”

Recently when I was upset by what my eyes saw on TV, God spoke these two things to my heart. “I, the Lord, am still in control,” and “I am not surprised by this.”

My Bible study teacher saw the same “news” on TV. She shared what God spoke to her, “I have not changed.”

Another way to say what Marie did– Do not listen to your eyes”–is found in 2 Corinthians 5:7 (ESV) “for we walk by faith and not by sight.”

Marie further said that listening to our eyes is part of the trap that Satan sets for us. How true. If he can get me to trust what I see rather than what God says, then he hurts my relationship with the Lord.

She also said, “If we don’t listen to our eyes, we’ll gain a teachable heart.”

Today I am determined to look at my life through spiritual eyes and by the light of His Word. I desire to trust Him and to remember that I cannot trust what I see. I don’t want to fall into Satan’s trap, and I want to maintain a teachable heart, which is a humble heart.

Years ago when certain areas of my life were falling apart, I listened again and again to an old hymn sung by Ginny Owens, who is blind. That song was “Be Thou My Vision.” Through the words of that hymn, God reminded me that I shouldn’t trust what I see, but I have to trust Him to be vision for me—to show me what things are really like in His reality because mine is unreliable.

I’m glad He used that song to remind me back then not to trust what I see, but instead to walk by faith. That reminder helped me through some hard days.

I’m also glad He used words from my Bible study teacher to remind me again in these difficult days to keep on trusting Him and not what I see.

At this moment I’m convinced He’s at work, He’s in control, and He can be trusted. That’s because right now I’m not listening to what I see. I’m listening to Him.

Song: “Be Thou My Vision” sung by Ginny Owens

Wait and listen to the video after “Be Thou My Vision” also sung by Ginny Owens titled, “If You Want Me To.” That is also a special giving-hope-and-help-in-hard-times song.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do Not Listen to Your Eyes

  1. Good article & analogy, Elaine. Thanks. I’ll highlight your post on the Christian Poets & Writers blog http://www.christianpoetsandwriters.com.

  2. Jane Reece says:

    Many thanks for your encouragement!

  3. Kim says:

    Elaine, Thank you for the great reminder to stay focused on the Lord, especially when things seem to be getting worse and worse. I’m so thankful that God sees and knows all and is still in control.

    Blessings!

  4. Judy says:

    Thank you, Elaine and Marie. I need this reminder in these troubled days. It gives me courage when fear threatens to take hold. We are in a daily battle but must remember that God protects His own people in the midst of controversy. We MUST try to maintain a peaceful spirit relying on His grace.

  5. Felicia says:

    Elaine, With a new grand daughter this has really touch my heart. To pray, boldly define my dreams for her,stand firm and claim God’s promises, Not fear what the world has… LOVE this !! don’t listen to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

