Just Be Held

“Just Be Held” is a new song by Casting Crowns. At least it’s new to me. I heard it for the first time this past week in the Publix parking lot. Instead of driving away after shopping, I sat there and listened. And I cried.

It seems that each time I hear a new song about being held by the Lord (there are several I heard over the past several years), it brings tears to my eyes. Perhaps it’s because throughout my childhood my dad was unable to hold his children when they needed to be consoled.

It’s taken me years to realize that God is eager to hold me—even when I’ve blown it and feel discouraged by my failures.

Some days I slip back into trying to make things right myself and to comfort myself. I use food or shopping to attempt to make myself feel better when I’ve blown it or others have rejected me. I can forget that God is there with open arms any time I choose to run to Him.

The word “refuge” in Scripture goes along with this sense of being held by God. I think of Psalm 46:1, a verse that encourages me. “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.”

What does it mean to have God as our refuge? On the website Gotquestions.org I read: “Whatever picture comes to mind, it can be agreed that a refuge is a safe place. When the Bible describes God as our refuge, it is saying that God is our safe place when we need protection from something.”

How wonderful that I can find refuge and be safe in the Lord’s arms.

Years ago when it seemed that running to the Lord was not a safe thing to do because of my fears and doubt regarding God, He whispered this little saying to me. “I want you to come to Me, not to scold you, but to hold you.”

At the time people in my life tended to scold me when I needed comfort. My wrong image of God from my childhood also caused me to think that He would do the same.

Another verse that has encouraged me to go to the Lord to be held is Hebrews 4:16. I like how this verse is spelled out in the Amplified version of the Bible.

“Let us then fearlessly and confidently and boldly draw near to the throne of grace (the throne of God’s unmerited favor to us sinners), that we may receive mercy [for our failures] and find grace to help in good time for every need [appropriate help and well-timed help, coming just when we need it].”

From both this verse and Psalm 46:1, I see that God not only wants to hold me but He then wants to help me. My part is to stop holding on to my will and my way and to embrace His. Surrender can seem difficult, but it’s essential.

This week as certain difficulties put pressure on my soul, and I feel like I’m not measuring up to God’s best in various areas of my life, I’m going to do what the group Casting Crowns says to do in their song–just be held.

Please listen carefully to the words in this song and take them deep into your heart. They are so powerful.

“Just Be Held” by Casting Crowns

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Be Held

  1. Emily Oesterling says:

    Hi Elaine, I needed to hear this today…thank you for the encouragement that someone else understands what we’re going through. Emily   From: Hearts Set Free Blog To: eoesterling2000@yahoo.com Sent: Saturday, August 29, 2015 11:10 PM Subject: [New post] Just Be Held #yiv5698660408 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5698660408 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5698660408 a.yiv5698660408primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5698660408 a.yiv5698660408primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5698660408 a.yiv5698660408primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5698660408 a.yiv5698660408primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5698660408 WordPress.com | elainecreasman posted: ““Just Be Held” is a new song by Casting Crowns. At least it’s new to me. I heard it for the first time this past week in the Publix parking lot. Instead of driving away after shopping, I sat there and listened. And I cried. It seems that each time I h” | |

    • Dear Emily, thanks for your comment. Please know that God loves you with an everlasting love-no matter what’s happening. It took me a long time to fully embrace that truth. God bless!

  2. thornrose7 says:

    Reblogged this on thornrose7 and commented:
    Awesome blog post and song today, Elaine!

  3. Queenie says:

    Hello Elaine, Wonderful blog, God bless you and thank you so much for this blog its exactly what I needed at this moment in my life. We meet in the prayer room at IRBC . Please continue praying for my daughter and grand daughter please.

Leave a Reply

