The Gift of Insight

Recently I found some notes I had taken about the word “insight.”

Here are definitions I had written down: 1. The power or act of seeing into a situation: penetration. 2. The act or result of apprehending the inner nature of things or of seeing intuitively. Syn: discernment.

I also wrote: “Insight is a gift from God.”

Here’s what else I wrote in this notebook: “Sometimes I’ve asked, ‘Why can’t she see what’s going on?’” and “We see beneath the surface because God lets us see. As writers this is essential. Pray for insight.”

Here are more definitions of insight I found today: 1. (n.) Power of acute observation and deduction; discernment; perception. 2. (n.) A sight or view of the interior of anything; a deep inspection or view; introspection;

And from the Greek it’s #5428 (in Strong’s Concordance) phronesis which means understanding, practical wisdom.

While I feel blessed to have the gift of insight, often I feel discouraged because others around me don’t. This hurts them and their relationships with the Lord, their loved ones and with me. In my work with the mentally ill and as a writer and speaker, one of my goals is to encourage others to receive insight, so they can be healed and move on to become all God has called them to be. Without insight, this is impossible.

I’m still asking, “Why can’t she/he see?” The good news is that others can receive the gift of insight that God has lavished on me.

Here are some key truths and verses about the word “insight” that I found today:

–We gain insight by seeking to know God.

…And the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding and spiritual insight (Proverbs 9:10 AMP)

–If we desire insight, God will give it.

Yes, if you cry out for insight, and lift up your voice for understanding…then you will understand the [reverent] fear of the LORD…and discover the knowledge of God (Proverbs 2:3 & 5).

Think over the things I am saying [grasp their application], for the Lord will grant you insight and understanding in everything (2 Timothy 2:7).

–It is not good to rely on our own insight.

Trust in and rely confidently on the LORD with all your heart and do not rely on your own insight or understanding (Proverbs 3:5).

–We can pray for others to have insight.

[I always pray] that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may grant you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation [that gives you a deep and personal and intimate insight] into the true knowledge of Him…(Ephesians 1:17).

–Insight is connected to understanding.

…And walk in the way of insight and understanding (Proverbs 9:6).

–Even with great insight, we can fall, if we don’t apply the insight to every situation.

God gave Solomon wisdom and very great insight, and a breadth of understanding as measureless as the sand on the seashore. 1 Kings 4:29 NIV

But

…king Solomon [defiantly] loved many foreign women… from the very nations of whom the LORD said to the Israelites, “You shall not associate with them, nor shall they associate with you, for the result will be that they will turn away your hearts to follow their gods.”

Yet Solomon clung to these in love…his wives turned his heart away [from God]…and his heart was not completely devoted to the LORD his God, as was the heart of his father David… Solomon did evil [things] in the sight of the LORD, and did not follow the LORD fully, as his father David had done…

So the LORD became angry with Solomon because his heart was turned away from the LORD, the God of Israel, who had appeared to him twice, and had commanded him concerning this thing, that he should not follow other gods; but he did not observe (remember, obey) what the LORD had commanded (1 Kings 11:1-4, 6, 9-10 AMP)

From the above I can see that God told Solomon what not to do and why, and then he came to him and commanded him not to do what was the result of disobeying the first command, but Solomon did not listen.

When I look at the life of Solomon, I can understand why in our modern day there are pastors who seem so spiritually gifted and have great insights and yet they fall into sexual or other kinds of deep moral sin.

I have to guard my own life and learn from Solomon’s errors and realize that the same can happen to me—even though God has gifted me with the gift of insight. I confess that in certain situations I depend on my own insight, understanding, wisdom, or even my own desires and that’s when I get in trouble. At times I’ve fallen because of this. The good news is I can return quickly to the Lord and His insights, and as my Bible study teacher says, “not be wrong long.”

I need to stay open to the Lord and hear Him when He’s warning me that I’m depending on my own insight instead of His. Failing to spend daily time in His Word and in prayer are what can lead me to forsake the insight of the Lord.

Lack of insight or letting go of insight are core reasons why people experience spiritual failure. Lately God is reminding me that having insight and holding on to it through continuing to seek to know Him and follow His ways is the key to spiritual success.

Will you join me today in praying that the Lord will continue to give us the gift of insight, so we can live lives that please Him and draw us and others closer to Him? And if you feel led, do a word search of the word “insight” for yourself. You may want to use the Amplified Bible as it appears more often in that version. You will be blessed.

“Open the Eyes of My Heart” by Michael W. Smith

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

