The Best Is Yet To Come

The best is yet to come.

Lately when I pray, those words often come to mind. I’m believing they are from the Lord.

On the hard days when I’m discouraged, He proclaims those words to my aching heart, and my spirit lifts.

Recently while in Tennessee with my husband, we visited a church with relatives. The pastor there reported that God had said similar words to him. This is how he expressed what the Lord told him: “You walk with me, and your greatest days are ahead of you.”

He then had us look at Psalm 92: 12-15. He read it from the New King James Version, but I like the extra words that the Amplified version adds, so that’s what I put down in my journal. It’s interesting as a writer that I’m often instructed to not use too many adjectives, but in verse 12, the adjectives are powerful.

“The [uncompromisingly] righteous shall flourish like the palm tree [be long-lived, stately, upright, useful, and fruitful]; they shall grow like a cedar in Lebanon [majestic, stable, durable, and incorruptible]

Planted in the house of the Lord, they shall flourish in the courts of our God.

[Growing in grace] they shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be full of sap [of spiritual vitality] and [rich in the] verdure [of trust, love, and contentment].

[They are living memorials] to show that the Lord is upright and faithful to His promises; He is my Rock and there is no unrighteousness in Him.”

In regard to verse 12, the pastor said that the righteous person is someone who is devout and one who is all in. Yes, that’s what I want to continue to be—devout and all in. Some days I slip back from that, but then God draws me closer to Himself again.

These four verses have spoken to me in the past—especially as I have had on certain days a dread of growing older and have wondered if my best days are behind me.

The words from these verses spoke to me once again. What beautiful promises God gave me to hold onto, especially those in verse 14:

I’m going to continue to grow in grace.

I’m going to continue to bring forth fruit even in old age.

I will continue to be full of sap-spiritual vitality.

I’m going to continue to be rich in the verdure of trust, love, and content.

Verdure is not a word that I’ve used. I had to look it up: “the greenness of growing vegetation; a condition of health and vigor.”

I’m celebrating that God is promising I’m going to stay green in my spirit even as my hair turns gray and my skin gives way to old age brown spots and wrinkles.

What an honor to be referred to as a living memorial to show that God is upright and faithful to His promises.

My life is certainly proof of that. May I continue to proclaim to the world the faithfulness of my God.

And hold to the promise that “The best is yet to come.”

“The Best Is Yet to Come” by Donald Lawrence

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Is Yet To Come

  1. Joan Lanning says:

    Thanks Elaine.

  2. Hi, Elaine. I appreciate you pointing us all to Psalm 92:15. I will have to go back and look at it, it sounds like an amplification of parts of Psalm 1.

    I don’t yet fear growing old, but I’ve battled the bad thoughts accompanying the reality that my family life is behind me.

    What I do hope that the best is yet to come is a word in the scriptures from God that can be for all us, and for me. Though I fear that what will be better will be in glory.

Leave a Reply

