God’s Gift of Preparation

“The thing that I have feared has come upon me.” (Job 3:25 NIV)

Those were the words that came to mind as a loved one suffered a trauma I had prayed she would not face.

Yet in the midst of hurting over how this trauma would affect this individual and her future as well as how it would affect me, God gave a peace.

One reason is that He had prepared me for this.

I remembered years ago when I was in a Beth Moore Bible study, Beth had asked us to identify one of our greatest fears. The reality that confronted me recently was the one that had come to mind way back then.

“Now add God to your fear sentence.”

“I’m so afraid my loved one will _________, but I know that if that happens God will be with her and with me every step of the way. He will give us strength to face it and will bring good out of it.

Now I was holding to what I had written so many years before.

Also, God had been preparing me in recent days.

I had been led to go to the computer each morning in recent weeks and type out my daily devotion. At the end, I would type, “Lord, I’m listening,” and then type out what I felt God was speaking to my heart for that day.

Each day God gave me something that would help me to endure what God knew lay ahead. Here are some of the phrases that God spoke.

RECEIVE MY PEACE.

THE BEST IS YET TO COME. (In my relationship with this person).

LET NOTHING THAT HAPPENS CAUSE YOUR FAITH TO UNRAVEL.

LET GO OF TRYING TO CONTROL.

I LOVE YOU. I LOVE YOU. I LOVE YOU. NOTHING CAN EVER CHANGE THAT.

I AM WORKING EVEN WHEN YOU CANNOT SEE WHAT I’M DOING. STOP TRUSTING WHAT YOU SEE. TRUST ME.

DO NOT FRET OR WORRY ABOUT FAMILY MEMBERS. I AM WORKING. TRUST ME. CLING TO ME. KEEP YOUR EYES FOCUSED ON ME.

One of the most helpful things God had spoken to me was this: KEEP FOCUSED ON PROMISES, PRAISE, AND PRAYER.

How that has helped me during these difficult days. Each time fear of the future threatens because of this recent crisis, God has spoken or I have read a promise in His Word. I’ve felt led to write out that promise and then a praise and a prayer related to it. This exercise has brought such peace to my heart and is helping me to continue to trust God even during this hard time.

Here are some of the three Ps I’ve written in my journal lately:

Promise: I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears Psalm 34:4

Praise: Lord, I praise that as I seek You, You answer me and deliver me from all my fears.

Prayer: Lord, help me to seek You whenever a fear rises up in me, so that You can answer me and deliver me from all my fears.

*****

Promise: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Praise: I praise You, Lord, for being the Strength of my life—especially during these difficult days.

Prayer: Lord, please help me to depend on Your strength instead of my own.

*****

Promise: I am with you always.

Praise: Lord, I praise You that I am never alone—even when the way seems dark—like now.

Prayer: Lord, help me to sense Your presence. Let me experience the fullness of joy found there.

I have had a sense of God’s presence and fullness of joy. I sense His strength, and He is delivering me from every fear as I seek Him and replacing it with His peace.

Already He is bringing good out of what has happened. He is drawing us closer as a family. He is causing us to have repentant hearts. He is showing us more clearly His will and His way.

Here is another thing that God spoke to my heart before the day of this calamity:

NOTHING IS TOO DIFFICULT FOR THE LORD. VICTORY IS YOURS. CLAIM IT TODAY EVEN BEFORE YOU SEE THE EVIDENCE. THAT’S WHAT FAITH IS ALL ABOUT.

So today as I live with the reality that what I feared most has happened, I am claiming victory knowing that my God is able. I feel my faith growing. And I’m still proclaiming, “My God is so good to me.”

Song selection: Here’s the link to a song that has encouraged me lately. It is “The River” by Jordan Feliz

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Gift of Preparation

  1. Billie burg says:

    Your blogs are right on. Love the song PS I hope you are coming to the brunch for GIF this Sat. Billie

  2. Kim says:

    Hi Elaine,

    I’m so thankful the Lord is so faithful in preparing us for what is coming our way. Without the Lord, I wouldn’t have made it to this point.

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

