I Will Trust Him

In a previous blog, I shared that I sensed God was telling me that the best is yet to come. This promise focused not on heaven, but it referred to my life here on earth.

Then as the new year drew closer and even after it arrived, God repeated a related promise to my heart: “This will be your best year yet.”

Oprah speaks on a commercial in recent days about this being the year of our best bodies ever. That’s a goal I’ve too often focused on, taking my concentration away from the spiritual needs in my life. I want that to be true—my best body—for health reasons especially, but this year I want to be more focused on my spiritual health.

My first thought when I heard God whisper, “This will be your best year yet” was that all of the messy circumstances in my life would miraculously be straightened out. Prodigals would come home. Loved ones with physical, emotional, and spiritual problems would be healed. Lost loved ones would be saved. Marriages of those I know that are on the verge of divorce would be rescued. The proud would be humbled. The mean people in my life would now be sweet and tender.

Then God impressed something else on me which redefined how I viewed this whole “The best is yet to come,” and “This will be the best year yet” promises.

His words were: “This year you will learn to trust Me more.”

So this year ahead will be my best year of trusting God. I receive that. I already see it happening. In the past my anger, worry, fear, and depression levels would have been so much higher than they are today with all that’s going on around me and in the world. It’s amazing how many times even in this new year that I have felt overwhelmed by peace and joy.

As I embrace God’s definition of “best,” I realize that circumstances may not change for the better. Or they may even get worse.

But the key to it being my best year ever is learning to trust Him more.

As I reflected on the subject, I thought of some of my favorite trust verses. Four of these* immediately came to mind. The other three I looked up.

Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You. Psalm 56:3 NKJV *

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6  ESV*

You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you. Isaiah 26:3 ESV *

The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower. Psalm 18:2 KJV

In the above verse, many translations have instead of “in whom I will trust” these words “in whom I take refuge.” This helps me to see an action of trusting—taking refuge in Him. 

I will say to (some translations say “of” instead of “to”) the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust. Psalm 91:2 ESV 

Here’s another distinct action I can take to grow my trust: speak to and of the Lord in regard to my trusting Him. 

…in quietness and trust shall be your strength. Isaiah 30:15 ESV * (some translations say “rest” or “confidence” instead of “trust.”)

After being reminded of the truth presented in Isaiah 30:15, I see how close rest and trust are related.

I remember an acronym I thought of years ago: REST = Release Everything; Simply Trust. That’s just what I want to do in 2016.

It is my desire to memorize the seven selections above and say them out loud often to remind myself of God’s trustworthiness and proclaim it to the enemy. I also want to share these and details of my journey with others, so I can help them to trust Him more.

There are so many rewards in trusting God. In relation to the verses mentioned above some of them are: peace, guidance, protection, strength.

My joyful task in the coming days is to look up all the trust verses in the Bible. Through them I’ll learn more about trusting God, and I’ll take note of the wonderful benefits that flow to me as I trust Him. I’m so excited to see how this “best year ever of trusting Him” unfolds.

How about you? Is this going to be your year of trusting God more than you ever have?

The song I chose for this week is “Trust in You” by Lauren Daigle. I love the way the Lord speaks a word to my heart and then brings a song to go along with it. How perfectly Lauren’s song fits my pursuit of trusting God more in 2016.

The first link is to a video with Lauren singing the song. Just seeing the passion of this 24-year-old singer/songwriter lifts my spirits. Pray for her as she brings God’s message to the masses.

The second link is a video with the lyrics to the song, so you can sing along.

“Trust in You” by Lauren Daigle https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_aVFVveJNs

Lyric video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qv-SXz_exKE

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Will Trust Him

  1. I love your scripture references and your acronym, REST. Release Everything Simply Trust.
    Very helpful.

    • Dear Beckie, I appreciate your comment. I checked out your blog and was pleased that you too have a passion to help people get and stay vitally connected to the Lord. God bless you in 2016, fellow blogger.

  2. Elnora Hinson says:

    Elaine.thank you so much for this inspiring piece. I, too am working on trusting God more in my life situations.It is not always easy.It seems much easier to try to handle things on our own. I too will try to “REST”.😊Thanks for obeying God and inspiring others. Much luv💝💝

    • Dear Elnora, thanks so much for your comment. We are all working on the trust issue. But the good news is that we can grow in trusting God more and more. And He is so willing to help us to trust Him. God bless you and yours in 2016.

  3. Joan Lanning says:

    Thanks for sharing Elaine.

  4. Hi, Elaine. It’s been a long time coming since you invited me to comment on this blog entry.

    I know you have compassion for others, and seek to encourage others, that’s quite evident.

    It’s tough to achieve a balance between sharing your experience and encouragement from God’s word. I believe you are trying to do that.

    I find myself backing away from advice, or any kind of writing (or spoken words) that suggest the author (or speaker) has received some inside message from God.

    God communicates to us plentifully, and personally, and directly. And most (all?) of what He tells us He tells us through the scriptures, and over time, as we study and absorb and think about and meditate on His word, all of which I have done some of but not enough of, in my life. Which I suspect most believers have done too little of in their lives (most know not how to feed themselves, but that’s another issue).

    So all that you have to say, Elaine, about memorizing and meditating on scripture resonates with me.

    What you sensed God was saying to you about the year to come may indeed be God communicating to you. But as I said, I tend to shy away from believing such personal, person-specific insights can be anything I can base hope or life on.

    You are far more faithful than I, Elaine.

    Phil

    P.s., God continues to teach me, Elaine, and give me hope and joy. As you know, my life has been one of continuous struggle. Challenges on relationships continue, but I have learned in the last eighteen months a biblical way of contending with the challenges. I have learned a lesson I kinda wished I had my ears open to learn much earlier in my life. Perhaps we can discuss sometime, or even write about.

    Phil

Leave a Reply

