Guest Blog: “When God Can’t Be Trusted” (Trust #3)

Those who have been reading my blogs lately know that trusting God has been on my mind. This is to be my “best year” of trusting God. It already is. A loved one is battling mental illness, and I have not given in to debilitating fears, depression, or hopelessness. I haven’t been trying to fix this individual as if my words could fix the brain. I have peace and joy in the midst.

Today I’m posting a guest blog by Heather Kopp, a fellow writer. I met Heather years ago when I interviewed her with her husband, David Kopp at a CBA convention in Orlando. They had written a book titled Praying for the World’s 365 Most Influential People. I was intrigued by the book because I’ve always been interested in celebrities, but I hadn’t thought of praying for them.

Then years later Heather came out with a book titled Sober Mercies; How Love Caught Up With A Christian Drunk. Her transparency about her struggle with alcohol moved me and urged me on to keep being honest in my own writing. In her book she wrote about her son, Noah, who also battled addiction. After that I followed her Sober Mercies blog. Her truths helped me so much in my own battle to be set free from my addictions.

A tragedy happened with Heather’s son, Noah, on October 31, 2015. It startled me and shook me to the core. You can read about it on Heather’s blog. It’s her latest post. Please read it after the trust blog, which was first posted on January 9, 2012.

The bottom line is that God can be trusted. However, He cannot be trusted to give in to my demands. He cannot be trusted to make my life unfold in ways I want it to. He cannot be trusted to keep my life free from tragedy. But today I’m celebrating that despite the tragedies in my life—ie the suicide of two of my siblings, severe mental illness in other relatives, gifted Christian loved ones who have become prodigals, and the list goes on—He can still be trusted. Pray for Heather that she will continue to believe that.

The song that came to mind this week as I thought about this blog is “Oceans” by Hillsong.  I invite you to look it up on Youtube.

Here’s the link to my guest blog  “Why God Can’t Be Trusted” by Heather Kopp.

http://soberboots.com/2012/01/09/why-god-cant-be-trusted/

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Blog: “When God Can’t Be Trusted” (Trust #3)

  1. Joan Lanning says:

    Thanks for sharing….I am glad Heather is your friend.

Leave a Reply

