Accident or Divine Appointment?

It was approximately a month ago that God allowed an accident that was no accident.

I had planned to go to the early staff meeting at work which starts at 5:45pm. A friend and I decided to take a walk. I would get back just in time to leave for the meeting.

After our walk, a thought came to me. Don’t rush. Just go to the second meeting. That one was to start at 7:15pm. Going to the second meeting would hurt my plan of stopping at a prayer meeting that was going on with my Bible study leader.

I guess God doesn’t want me to go to that.

On the way home while I was stopped at a corner waiting for the light to turn green, I heard a sudden, loud “whomp,” and my body jerked forward. Someone had hit me from behind.

I made my turn and pulled into a gas station, and the car pulled in behind me.

My neck felt tense and a headache was developing. I felt my brain had been jostled a bit.

A couple got out of the car, and the pretty young woman said, “I’m so sorry. I took my eyes off the road for just a second.” She promised me she was not using her cell phone.

“Are you alright?” she asked after I asked their names and gave them mine.

“I’m fine,” I said, not mentioning my neck or my head.

We looked at my car, and I was amazed there was no damage since the tension in my neck seemed to be getting worse by the minute, and the hit from her car felt hard.

The question I asked next seemed to be the Lord speaking through me. I certainly hadn’t thought of it when I got out of the car.

“Do you know Jesus as your Savior?” I asked this young woman.

“I’m working on that,” she said and told me of a serious struggle in her life.

“You can receive Him as Savior right now,” I said, “Would you like me to pray with you?”

This was unlike me. I tended to give people a tract. I remember the last time someone had hit me. Ironically, it was at this same corner years ago. I wrote to that lady about Jesus after I got home.

The young woman hesitated, but her male friend who stood beside her and whom she said was her boyfriend said, “Yes, we would like you to pray.”

So right there in the BP gas station parking lot at the corner of Ridge and Ulmerton, I prayed for this young couple to receive Jesus as Savior. I told them where I went to church and invited them to attend. I gave them my email address, and the young woman gave me hers.

I told them about my blog to help people be set free relating to her struggle, and she asked me to write down where she could find the blog. I wrote down my blog site.

We talked for a little while about the details of her life–that she had just moved back to the area and that she was looking for a job. Her boyfriend was quiet.

I expressed that I didn’t think it was “an accident” that she “ran” into me—that God had brought us together. She agreed. I gave them both some words of encouragement and expressed I hoped that we would meet again.

I sent an email right after I got home telling my new sister in Christ that I would continue to pray for her and her boyfriend. I invited her to church on a specific date since I work every other Sunday and told her I would meet them at the church and sit with them. She emailed me back and thanked me for praying with her to receive Jesus. She said she would like to come to church with me.

That evening the stiffness in my neck continued, and my head didn’t feel quite right. What should I do? I thought. Perhaps I should email her again and get her insurance information. What if this gets worse? What if something is wrong with my head and neck? A part of me felt this was just a distraction from rejoicing. The next thought that came was, Do not mention this to her. This is going to go away.

And it did. The next morning there was no sign of any discomfort.

This couple did join me at church. They expressed that the sermon touched them. They met our pastor. And they plan to come back after returning from some travel. She likes to write, so I invited her to the writing group I lead, and she plans to come next month if she is able.

As I reflect on my accident that was no accident, I am reminded of a prayer I often say on the way to work on a psychiatric ward: “Lord, let Your light shine through me.”

It definitely was His light and not mine that reached out to this young couple that evening.

I’m praying that more and more in the days ahead I will be dedicated to His agenda and not get bogged down by the trivialities or the hardships in my own life, which is certainly a temptation.

And I’m praying that there will be more opportunities to reach out to strangers with a boldness that can only come from the Lord.

“God Light Your World” by Kathy Troccoli

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVqR6kTu8lE

 

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accident or Divine Appointment?

  1. Joan Lanning says:

    Thanks for sharing Elaine.

Leave a Reply

