Power To Break Every Chain

Lately I’ve been brought back again and again to a song that proclaims a truth my soul needs to hear.

Different people in various areas of my life have asked, “Have you heard that song?” or said, “You need to listen to this song.” Then they played it for me. I had heard the song for the first time in recent months, but yet it gets presented to me again and again.

I believe the Lord is trying to tell me something.

As I sing the song when it is brought to my attention or comes to mind, and I let it sink deep into my heart, I’m confronted with my ongoing battle with doubt. There are areas in my life where it seems chains are not being broken. Worry, fear, unbelief still plague me at times—especially during these hard days where new heartaches arise on a regular basis, and there seems to be no end in sight to certain trials.

The truth is God has broken so many chains in my life—even those three. Yes, I may still struggle with certain issues, but I’m not chained by them.

I’m realizing my concerns are more for my loved ones. So many are bound tightly in their chains. How I long to make them believe in and receive God’s power for their lives. What I can do is believe in it more fully myself and let it change my life in a deeper way. I can make sure I don’t allow the enemy to drag me back to my old way of life. Then perhaps when they see God’s power at work in me, they will want the same thing for their lives.

God reminded me this week that there are two areas where the enemy tries to cast doubt. Those two areas have to do with God’s love and with His power. I’ve made great progress in the area of letting go of doubts about His love. But now I need to be released from doubts about His power. It’s not that I don’t believe God has power. It’s that I sometimes don’t believe it’s there for me and for my life, and it especially seems not to be available for my loved ones.

Another song I heard recently reminds me that the same power that raised Jesus from the dead lives in me. It’s just that I don’t appropriate that power for my life often enough. It’s because I, like the loved ones I care deeply about who seem so often in deep trouble in their souls, can tend toward self-sufficiency. This seems to cut off God’s power from our lives.

The bottom line is that my God is all-powerful. In the Psalm I memorized recently (Psalm 62), it states this: “God has spoken once, twice have I heard this: that power belongs to God.” (verse 11 AMPC).

Another truth is that His power is available to me: “The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].”  (James 5:16 AMPC)

As I let go self-sufficiency and become dependent on the Lord alone as evidenced by a deeper prayer life, I see His power at work.

This is the desire of my heart:  “that I may know him and the power of his resurrection…” Philippians 3:10 (ESV) 

Here’s how the Amplified says it: “[For my determined purpose is] that I may know Him [that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly], and that I may in that same way come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection [which it exerts over believers],…”

If I dare to embrace the rest of this verse, I see that suffering goes along with knowing Jesus better. Paul wrote this in the midst of suffering. And it is in the middle of my hard times, that I have seen God’s power at work most wonderfully.

And so today I am once again singing truth from these songs that have touched my heart lately: “There’s power in the name of Jesus to break every chain,” and “The same power that raised Jesus from the grave lives in me.”

I’m excited to see what marvelous ways God is going to manifest His power in the days ahead. He is already powerfully transforming my heart, but I’m also looking forward to Him doing the same in the lives of my loved ones.

Yes, it’s true. His power—the same power that raised Jesus from the grave—is able to break every chain.

Lord, help me to believe that with all of my heart.

“Break Every Chain” by Tasha Cobbs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUPZbNozGZc

“Same Power” by Jeremy Camp

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QD1QMSYKL6Q

 

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Power To Break Every Chain

  1. Joan M Lanning says:

    Thanks Elaine…a beautiful message.

Leave a Reply

