Never Alone

Lately there’s a song sung by a teenage singer that keeps going through my mind. Every time I hear it on the radio, I sing along and even move my body in time to it. The tune is catchy, but the main truth in the song is what catches my heart.

God will never leave me alone.

What comfort that brings to my soul. No matter how I mess up or how far I wander or how distracted I become in my walk with the Lord, He remains faithful and is always with me.

The singer in the rap section of the song talks about relapsing. What a great word for what we can all get caught in. Drug addicts relapse into taking drugs again. I, as a Christian, tend to relapse into living the old way and being self-sufficient instead of depending on Him.

Some days I feel alone, but it’s great to be reminded that I’m not.

One thing that can bring on that I’m so alone feeling is when I look to people for wisdom or for all the answers to the dilemmas of life instead of turning to the Lord.

They just don’t understand me, what they have to offer isn’t enough, I’m so alone, are my conclusions.

Then when I turn wholeheartedly to the Lord and cry out to Him for help, He calms me and I have the sense that He is with me. He may not change my circumstance, but He changes my heart and the way I perceive my difficult situation. He teaches me how to react to hard times and difficult people in a godly way.

In the midst of listening to this song, “Alone,” I realize how often I leave God alone. How easily I can desert Him and go my own way—even if it’s just for moments or hours at a time. Here’s a verse from the Word that speaks to this:

If we are faithless [do not believe and are untrue to Him], He remains true (faithful to His Word and His righteous character)… 2 Timothy 2:13 AMPC

Here’s another verse that encourages me and reminds me that it’s God’s love for me that keeps Him totally involved in my life no matter what, refusing to “leave me alone.”

“For the mountains may depart and the hills be removed, but my steadfast love shall not depart from you, and my covenant of peace shall not be removed,” says the Lord, who has compassion on you. Isaiah 54:10 ESV

When I’m going about my day, I can forget that God is with me—that I’m not alone. Lately I acknowledge Him, and that helps. “Lord, thank You for being here with me.”

Once I remember that He’s with me, I know that I don’t have to figure everything out. I can consult Him. I can receive guidance from Him. I can enjoy my time with Him.

Today I’m celebrating that God never leaves me alone.

What a joy it is to remember this fact about my wonderful Lord.

“Alone” by Hollyn (featuring Tru)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kpk9PfOVFQk

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Never Alone

  1. Joan M Lanning says:

    Very true and comforting. Thanks Elaine

  2. judithbeckman says:

    Thanks, Elaine. It is so easy to forget this and get frustrated in trying to figure things out and/or impose our own ways on others instead of trusting God for His faithfulness and unfathomable compassion for hurting people. God bless you and happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

