My Wants Vs God’s Will

Recently I heard a song that touched my heart. The theme was embracing God’s will even when it seems that what He has allowed brings heartbreak.

I found out later that the song was written after the songwriter experienced a miscarriage.

One line spoke of our broken hearts possibly being God’s will—that it’s part of His plan.

I thought of all the heartaches and heartbreaks I have had in my life. Could it be God’s will that my heart break? Again and again?

What I do know is that my heartbreaks have brought me closer to Him.

I think of the verse that helped bring me through those times of heartbreak, especially after my brother’s suicide, Psalm 147:3, which says, “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds [curing their pains and their sorrows].” (AMPC)

Another verse about broken hearts is Psalm 34:18: “The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” (NIV)

Because this is a fallen world, we all will experience things that break our hearts. What I need to consider is this: what am I going to do with my broken heart? At my job I work with people who choose drugs and alcohol to deal with heartbreaking circumstances. I’ve tried that route myself, and it is a dead end, which only increases the pain.

At times I’ve turned to other things of this world to deal with my broken heart. I wanted my husband to heal my broken heart when I married him and at various times over the years. I turned to food, the accumulation of possessions, the approval of people.

These just make my “heart” condition worse.

I’ve discovered that turning to God is the only answer to my broken heart. Doing His will after I don’t get what I want is the only way to maintain hope and receive healing when my life doesn’t turn out the way I had planned.

My plans did not include loved ones turning away from the Lord. They did not include my own and family members’ battles with physical and mental illness. I did not want severe struggles in our marriage and in other relationships. What I wanted was a smooth life. What I received was a rough one with challenges that have some days seemed insurmountable.

But as I embrace “Your will be done,” instead of going my own way when God refuses to give me what I want, victory comes. He shows me His way. He reveals His will.

And so today and in the days ahead with trials continuing to challenge me, I stand firm on following the Lord and embracing His will.

How about you?

Thy Will by Hillary Scott & The Scott Family

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCR_Fa8YV2U

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Wants Vs God’s Will

  1. Del Bates says:

    Oh so true Elaine.. Tonight I faced one of my own silent battles, but as the Lord knows my hope, my love and my calling is in Him and For Him.. So tonight I continue to write as I am writing For HIm.. thy will Be Done!!! Amen.
    thanks for sharing..

Leave a Reply

