Leaping Instructions Guest Blog

Today I have a guest blog from one of my favorite writers, Kent Crockett.

I met Kent quite a few years ago at a writers conference where I was on staff. My privilege was to critique his proposal for a book titled, The 911 Handbook. I let him know that he was an excellent writer, and I thoroughly enjoyed and was encouraged by reading his work. Later that book was published. Since then Kent has had a number of books published including Slaying Your Giants: Biblical Solutions to Everyday Problems and The Sure Cure for Worry: Learning to Trust God No Matter What Happens. Kent was a pastor for many years, and now works to continue to build up the body through his writing and speaking ministry. To see more of his blogs go to http://kentcrockett.blogspot.com/

Leaping Instructions

By Kent Crockett

leaping%2bfor%2bjoy

Jesus said, “Blessed are you when men hate you, and ostracize you, and cast insults at you, and spurn your name as evil, for the sake of the Son of Man. Be glad in that day and leap for joy, for behold, your reward is great in heaven. (Luke 6:22-23)

I’ve seen people leap for joy when their football team scores a touchdown.

I’ve seen people leap for joy when a player hits a 3-pointer to win a basketball game.

I’ve seen people leap for joy when they win the Publisher’s Clearing House. But I’ve never seen anyone leaping for joy when they’re hated by others.

Jesus said to “leap for joy”—not when your team wins, but when evil is being unleashed on you. One time when I was being attacked by a mean-spirited person, another pastor told me, “You need to follow the leaping instructions. Jesus told us to jump for joy when we’re under attack.” I had never thought of that before—to literally leap for joy. Jesus said to “be glad in that day,” not after you die and go to heaven.

The key is to understand what’s taking place in heaven at that very moment. You must realize that when you’re being hated for doing God’s will, the Lord is giving you an incredible reward in heaven that will last throughout eternity. If He would pull back the curtain and you could see this reward, you would be doing cartwheels and leaping for joy. But since you can’t see it right now, you’ll just have to take Jesus’ word for it.

LEAPING INSTRUCTIONS. (You can also leap for joy when you are discouraged or depressed). Find a private place where it’s just you and the Lord. Start jumping up and down while you’re praising God. It’s that simple. Leap just like you jumped for joy when your team won. But now you’re doing it because God is blessing you in the midst of a horrible situation. And don’t be surprised if your depression and discouragement also leave you. http://kentcrockett.blogspot.com/

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leaping Instructions Guest Blog

  1. Jeanne Phelan says:

    Elaine, Kent’s blog “Leaping Instructions” reminded me of Merlin Carouthers book “Prison to Praise.” I used the concept of this book today after hurting from a neighbor’s verbal attack, I climbed up the rings through pain & darkness, praising God until I felt release & the light of His presence.

  2. Jeanne Phelan says:

    Elaine, in my comments on 9-13-2016, I made several mistakes. The concept from the book, “Prison to Praise” is similar to “Leaping Instructions,” as it encourages us to take an action to defeat darkness. The idea is to climb Jacob’s ladder. “He {Jacob} had a dream in which he saw a stairway resting on the earth, with its top reaching to heaven, and the angels of God were ascending and descending on it.” Genesis 28:12 NIV Instead of saying,”I climbed up the rings,” I should have said, “I climbed up the rungs of the ladder…” Thank you, Elaine, for encouraging me and reminding me God wants to keep us humble.

Leave a Reply

