Lord, Keep Me Hungry

Lately I’m been thanking the Lord for something I have that so many other people seem to lack—even those who call themselves Christians. That something is a hunger for God.

I used to think that this hunger was initiated by me, but perhaps that’s not true. Could it be that God planted this craving for Him in me? Maybe He puts it in all of us, but if we turn to other things to satisfy our souls, our hunger for Him diminishes.

On any given day I see that operating in my life. I wake up and have a desire to spend time with the Lord in His Word, but the cares of this world draw me away. My to-do list beckons. I watch TV and am enticed by entertainment instead of entering into intimacy with the One who knows me best and loves me most. I’m drawn away and find myself in the trap of looking to the things of this world to satisfy my hungry soul.

If I continue to do that on many consecutive days, my desire for God shrivels.

What brings back the hunger for God is going to Him, crying out to Him, believing that He alone can satisfy these deep cravings and allowing Him to minister to me. I open wide to receive all He has for me: hope, help, healing and so much more.

Somehow eating—tasting and seeing that the Lord is good–(see Psalm 34:8) makes me more hungry for Him.

As I seek Him with all of my heart, I discover what Psalm 107:9 promises is true: “For He satisfies the longing soul and fills the hungry soul with good” (AMPC)

I’m discovering that humility and hunger go together. Moses was described as the most humble man on the face of the earth (See Numbers 12:3). He continually sought the Lord for guidance rather than depending on himself, which is what we do when we’re bound by pride. Pride kills spiritual hunger. I’ve seen that happen in my life.

One of my greatest heartaches in life is to have loved ones who are suffering from near-starvation in their souls, but yet will not turn to the Lord. It seems they have no hunger to know Him or receive from Him.

Some seem angry at God, perhaps because in a time when they were seeking Him, He didn’t deliver in the way they demanded. Instead of pressing in closer, they backed off and chose looking to the world to satisfy their hungry souls.

I confess at times I’ve tried to cram spiritual food into them. That practice is futile. Like a child who’s no longer hungry, they spit it out, and things become messy.

I’m thinking of occasions when I’ve gone out to a gathering where delicious food is being served. For whatever reason a companion of mine has decided not to partake. It’s hard being with that person. I want to share and have us proclaim in unison how wonderful everything tastes.

That’s how it is with loved ones who have no passion or hunger for the Lord. God feeds me with so many tantalizing, delicious truths from His Word, and I want to share. They have no interest. I communicate, “Do you want a bite?” but they refuse and seem to prefer having emaciated souls. Some days they remind me of the paranoid patients I work with who believe that what I’m offering them is poison.

Yet there are some in my life who have a touch of hunger, and I share a morsel of food with them, and they say, “Give me more.” Eventually, they grow as hungry for the Lord as I am, and we spend time feasting together.

Those who have a touch of hunger are the ones I try to reach with my writing. I want their hunger as well as their intimacy with the Lord to grow. I long for them to experience the fullness of allowing Him to feed them and satisfy their souls.

As far as those who seem to have no hunger for the Lord, there are two things I can do. One is I can love them where they’re at letting God’s love flow through me to them. The other thing I can do is pray.

And so today I do: “Lord, for all of those who have lost their hunger for You, I pray that You restore that hunger. Give them a deep craving to know, love, and serve You. Help them to believe that only You can satisfy their souls.

And as for myself, Lord, please keep me hungry for You.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L-9ALZrds-o

Hungry by Kathryn Scott

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaNkbqme8W0

Will You Worship? I’m Hungry for You by Gospel Invasion Group

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lord, Keep Me Hungry

  1. Margaret says:

    Timely Elaine – seem to be reading my mind. Thank you for faithfully sharing your heart and thoughts which echoes so many others including mine.

  2. Joan Lanning says:

    Thanks Elaine!

  3. judithbeckman says:

    You express these thoughts very well. My response is Amen and Amen! I pray more and more will “Taste and see how good the Lord is”, lapping up this delicious medicine for the soul!

  4. Diane says:

    Thank you for your powerful message–your concerns for loved ones who do not seem hungry for the Lord are the major concerns in my life too! I agree with your solution–“love them where they’re at letting God’s love flow through me to them. The other thing I can do is pray.”

Leave a Reply

