King of My World

Some days people have called me a “take charge” person.

Taking charge may seem like a good thing, but it’s not when I’m working to be in in control of my life above the Lord.

Just today I was trying to decide if I should seek other employment after I retire from my present job. I wondered if I should go back to being a substitute teacher.

After discussing with others the pros and cons of that path, and what I did and didn’t like about it when I had been a sub in the past, I left the subject up in the air.

Then when my husband and I were in the car, I brought up the matter again. He said something similar to what my Bible study teacher has said when a decision is to be made. She says, “Ask the Father.” My husband said, “Why not ask God what you should do?”

I confess that too often I consult my own mind when making decisions instead of turning to the One who knows all about me and longs to guide me in every aspect of my life.

Years ago I heard a sermon that had such an impact on me. The preacher spoke of keeping God in our lives as “God Most High.” He brought up such verses as Psalm 57:2 which says, “I will cry to God Most High, Who performs on my behalf and rewards me [Who brings to pass His purposes for me and surely completes them]! (AMPC)

When I heard that sermon, I realized how often I put myself in that “high” position in my life and take God off of the throne.

Recently a song has been coming on the radio that is once again convicting me of this bad habit that I too often slip back into. The song by Natalie Grant is called “King of the World.” I want to keep God as King of my world, but too often I don’t. I feel that maybe He doesn’t know what’s best for me, that He doesn’t understand me, or that perhaps I need to be making decisions on my own.

The verse that comes to mind when I hear that song is Isaiah 55:9: “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Today I’m confessing that I’m guilty of thinking I know more than I do and sometimes concluding that I’m more qualified than God to make decisions about my future.

What I do know is a truth I’ve heard repeatedly over the years: “The safest place to be is in the center of His will.”

But if I’m making decisions on my own behalf rather than consulting Him, I’m moving to places that are unsafe and will not bring Him glory.

In a Celebrate Recovery meeting I attended several years ago, I first heard the term self-sufficiency used as a negative trait that one needed to be delivered from. The opposite of self-sufficiency is depending on the Lord. The enemy tries to convince me that this isn’t necessary–that it’s  unreasonable and even fanatical.

The truth is God longs for me to depend on Him, to consult Him, to seek Him wholeheartedly.

That’s what I want to do.

I pray the Lord will continue to nudge me when I slip from keeping Him as the King of my world.

He’ll always be the King of the world, but I have to choose daily and even moment by moment if I’m going to keep Him as King of my world.

Lord, help me to keep choosing to see You and live with You as God Most High, the King of the world and the King of my world.

 

“King of the World” by Natalie Grant

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcRRmkXiyAk

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to King of My World

  1. judithbeckman says:

    Amen! His plans are far better than mine, and His timing is perfect! He has shown me that over and over again.

Leave a Reply

