Things Left Undone

As the year draws to an end, my mind focuses on a nagging subject which can be described in three words.

Things left undone.

Some of these have to do with the holiday season: I wanted to visit a friend who’s still grieving over the sudden and tragic death of her husband a couple of years ago. I had planned to go to Clearwater Beach and sing Christmas carols to the scores of people walking by. I had intended to send more Christmas cards than I did—especially to those I hadn’t connected with during 2016.

I had in my mind to create a powerful Christmas blog and even work on writing a Christmas song.

House guests and unexpected obstacles like my computer crashing, and feeling wearier than usual, led to me not accomplishing everything I had a mind to do.

Then comes the tasks left undone in the all-year-long areas of my life, ie writing, home care and repairs, my health and fitness goals, my relationships with family and friends, my spending more time practicing the guitar.

As I contemplate things left undone, I realize some are my own things—while others are directed by the Lord. The key is distinguishing between the two.

One day in early December, I dealt with one of those God-instigated things left undone even though I had let months go by since I sensed an urging from the Lord to set things right.

What I knew the Lord wanted was for me to apologize to sales clerks at a local store. One day over a year before, I irritably lashed out at them over a dispute in pricing. I raised my voice and spewed sarcasm. I stomped out in a huff leaving my merchandise behind.

Every time I drove by the store, I knew God wanted me to set things right, not just with a mailed note, but in person. After many months of procrastination, I brought an apology note enclosed in a Christmas card identifying myself as a Christian, along with a large container of gourmet popcorn. I wrote my apology and spoke it out loud as well, thanking them for being kind, patient, and merciful with me.

“This never happens,” I heard one clerk say to another off to the side while they inspected the gift and the clerk in front of me checked me out.

While accomplishing this thing left undone, I realized wrong choices followed by right ones serve as a powerful Christian witness and bring glory to God as well as a release and sense of satisfaction to me.

In this coming year, I’ll be praying to avoid having things left undone, and with God’s help will work on letting go of procrastination. But even if I do delay, as I stay before the Lord I know He’ll give me direction and strength to do all He’s called me to do and let those other “good ideas” I come up with fall away.

Today I’m not just focused on things left undone by me, but I’m also continuing to celebrate all God has done in and through me in 2016.

As far as things left undone at Christmas time, with a little adjustment I can still do each one. It’s my own notion that they can only be done during the holiday season.

I rejoice that I serve a God who doesn’t leave things left undone, even though my flesh insists He’s taking too long, and gets miffed that He’s not doing things my way.

The promise He’s given me relating to this is in Psalm 138:8: “The Lord will perfect that which concerns me…” (AMPC)

Thank You, Lord, for such a wonderful promise. Help me to embrace it fully.

The song for today is one I called my theme song for 2016, a year I’ve truly learned to trust God more.

“Trust in You” by Lauren Daigle.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qv-SXz_exKE

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things Left Undone

  1. karencobbs says:

    I saw the link to this on the Christian Blogger Network. I enjoyed your entry, and a few others I have read. I also write an inspirational blog. It is called, Your Daily Moment, Inspirational Thoughts to begin your day. I write it daily. You can find it at karencobbs.com, (this is my web store, but you can click on the blog link, or go directly to yourdailymoment.karencobbs.com I will bookmark your blog and check it often. Be blessed. Karen Cobbs

    • Karen, thank you for your comment. I checked out your site and read several of your blogs. I especially liked the one where you quoted Maya Angelou. God bless you with peace and joy in the new year and lots of inspired writing to share with others.

      • karencobbs says:

        Elaine, thank you for checking out my blog. I apologize for not responding sooner, but for some reason your comment only showed up today, even though dated Dec. 31. I post a blog everyday. It is meant to be a short devotion but pack a powerful punch to chew on throughout the day. I hope you will follow me daily at yourdailymoment.karencobbs.com or at karencobbs.com where you will click on the blog tab. I will make a point to check your blog as well. Thank you again. Be blessed.

  2. Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging and commented:
    Happy New Year!!

  3. Delicious Huckaby says:

    Happy New Year…I too have learned to have more trust in the Lord and do good. This has been my pursuit during 2016 according to Psalms 37:3-5. God bless you richly my friend. You gave me a gift a long time ago, a perpetual calendar which I use daily. The quote for 31 December is Num.6:24-26…
    May the Lord bless and protect you; may the Lord’s face radiate with joy because of you; may He be gracious to you, show you His favor, and give you His peace. Love and best wishes, Delicious

Leave a Reply

