Take Courage

Years ago I wrote a little song about courage. At the time I was intrigued that a verse in the Bible didn’t say, “Have courage.” Instead it read, “Take courage.”

“Be strong, and let your hearts take courage, all you wait for and confidently expect the Lord.” Psalm 31:24 AMP

I could see God holding out all the courage I needed to face the troubles and tasks in my life as He urged, “Take courage.” So that was the title of my song. Here are the words:

I will take courage–

the courage of the Lord.

I will take His courage;

my faith will be restored.

When my fears are all around,

I will take the higher ground.

Yes, I’ll take His courage—

the courage of the Lord.

Not long ago I heard another song by the same title. It was sung by someone who definitely needed courage. Her husband had early onset dementia and had not long before become violent and had to be admitted to a locked facility.

I never heard this song before, but she sang it with such conviction that it really touched me. The words spoke to my soul. The singer sang about taking courage and about how God is in the waiting. I realized that’s when I really need courage—when I’m in an extended trial—like this loving wife whose husband’s brain continued to malfunction. Because the dementia is early onset, and he’s otherwise healthy, this couple and their family will suffer for many years.

I, too, face situations which require courage and waiting.

But this song, obviously a comfort to her, comforted me in my long, drawn-out trials.

Not long ago I looked up the word “courage” in the dictionary:  “strength in the face of pain or grief” and “the ability to do something that frightens one.”

In some translations of the Bible instead of “take courage,” the verses say “take heart.” The “cour” in courage means heart. The opposite of take heart is lose heart, which I see in Galatians 6:9, a Bible verse that has lifted me up over the years. “And let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we shall reap if we do not grow weary.” NAS 1977

Some people have asked me, “What’s your word for the new year?”

I decided mine is courage. In 2017 I’m determined to do what this song and many verses in the Bible implore, “Take courage.” I also choose to remember that my God is right here with me in the time of waiting to supply the courage I need.

I also want to urge others to take courage: “Say to those with anxious heart, ‘Take courage; fear not…’” Isaiah 35:4 NASB

And when I face yet another trial, I will remember John 16:33: “In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.”

I thank God for His generosity to give me courage to face every difficulty of life and as a bonus bring good from each of them.

Lord, I receive Your courage.

Kristene DiMarco  “Take Courage” Bethel Music

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r49V9QcYheQ

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Take Courage

  1. Jane Vernon Reece says:

    Elaine, You give me hope. Much appreciation for an inspiring blog.

Leave a Reply

