Everything Comes Alive

A video on youtube touched me recently. Although I heard the song on the radio many times, the words spoken before and after the song stirred me in a powerful way.

Before the song started, the lead singer said three sentences.

“People said I’d never be anything.” A person in my childhood communicated a similar negative statement to me again and again.

“They said I was too broken.” I concluded this about myself.

“They said I had too many scars.” I told myself that lie.

I watched the singer of the group We Are Messengers belt out the words to the song “Everything Comes Alive,” and I thought about how God brought good out of my brokenness. I marveled at how He looked past my scars and resurrected what I surmised would stay dead.

This year I celebrate forty years of knowing Jesus as my Savior. After I heard this song with the words spoken before and after, I rejoiced at God’s healing power in my life and how He’s used me in ways I never imagined possible.

The image of the broken young woman I used to be seems like a hazy dream.

I never imagined back then He could take a depressed, suicidal young person and transform her to the point where she worked the last fourteen years with the mentally ill to help them overcome depression and the desire to die.

In no way did it seem possible He would take someone like me who stammered over words and turned red and flushed if anyone looked me in the eye and open the door for public speaking to bring hope and courage.

And when I wrote depressed, negative words in my journal as a teen, I could not have dreamed God would call me to be a writer to help others overcome depression and negativity and draw close to a God who loves them with a forever love which tenderizes and transforms.

I feel certain Darren Mulligan, the lead vocalist of We Are Messengers, the worship band formed in Monaghan, Ireland (oh, how I love his accent, and the fact that we could my kin since my mom’s father’s side of the family originates from Ireland) never imagined in his dark days he would be in a band singing praises to God.

These six sentences verbalized after he sang the song on the video caused my heart to overflow with gratitude as I applied them to my life and circumstances.

“People said I was too broken.”

“But God said something different.”

“He said He’d take me with my bruises and my scars.”

“He never said life would be easy.”

“It can still be tough.”

“But I know this: I’ve got hope.”

Today I praise the God of hope who embraces broken people. And when they take hold of Him in return, everything comes alive.

Note: If you live in the Tampa Bay area, you can see the band, “We Are Messengers” and hear their powerful songs for yourself.

“Enjoy a FREE concert with We Are Messengers and Stars Go Dim, coming to the 2017 Chasco Fiesta in New Port Richey on Friday, March 24th!” –From the JoyFM website.

“Everything Comes Alive” by We Are Messengers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ga5wTxF6Tc

To read Darren Mulligan’s testimony, click this link:

http://wearemessengersmusic.com/biography

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everything Comes Alive

  1. Joan Lanning says:

    Thanks Elaine

Leave a Reply

