Embracing P Words From the Lord

Lately three P words ran through my mind.

Presence, peace, and power.

This truth arrived with those words: if you truly possess a sense of each of these, your walk with God flourishes.

If I sense His presence and know He’s with me every moment of the day, it leads to the next P. I rest in peace. As peace settles my soul, I then realize I have God’s power available to me. Because Jesus lives in me, so does His power. I don’t have to live with a sense of powerlessness, which I see many in my circles succumb to. Belief in His power seems to release it.

Prayer shows I believe in His power.

Verses came to mind in relation to each of these P words.

“You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy; at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:11 NKJV

You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You” Isaiah 26:3

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” 2 Timothy 1:7

I guess I came up with a fourth P word today: Prayer.

This verse comes to mind as I think of prayer: “Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.” James 5:16 (The bolding in these verses comes from me.)

The three P words popped into mind while I worked at my job. Some days I wonder if I possess the strength to continue to work with the mentally ill. Do I still have what it takes? As I age, I also wonder, Am I too old for this?(Another P word just came to mind: Patience.)

What verse goes with patience?

A person’s wisdom yields patience; it is to one’s glory to overlook an offense.” Proverbs 19:11 NIV

As I review the 5 P words which now reside on my list, I see how each accompanying verse lifts me to a higher place, where I know I can do whatever God calls me to because of His presence, His peace, His power, the avenue of prayer, and the patience He gives me.

More P words will inevitably come to mind in the days ahead. I determine to embrace each one.

How grateful I feel to have a God who encourages me in so many ways—some days just by three words which slip into my thoughts.

This song lifts my spirits every time I hear it.

“Magnify” by We Are Messengers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgF4SjdRP3s

Don’t forget if you live in the Tampa Bay area, We Are Messengers will be part of a free concert in Sims Park in New Port Richey on Friday, March 24, 2017 at 6pm. This is in connection to the Chasco Fiesta celebration.

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Embracing P Words From the Lord

  1. Diane says:

    Such a powerful message–will study the three p’s and bible verses that accompany them! Thank you for this great message.

  2. Joan Lanning says:

    Inspiring message – thanks Elaine.

  3. Thanks for this, Elaine. Good thoughts and verses to go with them. I’m doing a study on 1 and 2 Peter. In 2 Peter 1, he talks about “perseverance,” another great P word.

    • Sandy, thanks for your comment. Shortly after I posted this blog, the word “perseverance” came to mind as what you said, “another great P word.” The verses I looked up impacted me.Romans 15:4-5 “For whatever was written in earlier times was written for our instruction that through perseverance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. Now may the God who gives perseverance and encouragement grant you to be of the same mind with one another according to Christ Jesus.” (Romans 15:4-5) This part shouted to me “the God who gives perseverance.” I thought my job centered on mustering up perseverance, but it comes from God. He gives it as a gift. Wow! Today I ask for more perseverance as a writer, a wife, a worker, a mother, a grandmother, a friend. And the bonus comes as He gives encouragement as well. God is so good.

Leave a Reply

