No Longer A Slave to Fear

Not long ago I heard a song which described my life. The chorus proclaimed, “I’m no longer a slave to fear.”

When I heard the song, I sang along and celebrated the truth of the phrase as I applied it to myself. I marveled at how far the Lord brought me on the pathway marked, “deliverance from fear.”

I remembered back to my childhood and how I often felt paralyzed by fear. Fear of rejection, fear of the dark, fear of future overwhelmed me.

When it came time to make a decision, I felt afraid to do so. What if I made the wrong choice? Surely calamity would befall me.

As I examine my present life, I realize one reason it seems fairly easy—at least compared to years past–centers on this fact: I now allow faith rather than fear rule my day. I believe by faith God loves me and trust He will take care of me. I know how to leave the future in His hands, so I can enjoy the present.

Yes, I sometimes fall back into fear, especially when I interact with others who allow fear to rule their lives. But I now know how to stop the stranglehold of fear.

I look to the Lord and focus on Him. I read His Word and believe it relates to me.

One verse, which I call my life verse, transforms my thought life when it comes to fear. I like it in the Amplified Version of the Bible:

“Fear not [there is nothing to fear], for I am with you; do not look around you in terror and be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen and harden you to difficulties, yes, I will help you; yes, I will hold you up and retain you with My [victorious] right hand of rightness and justice.” AMPC

I love the promise contained in the brackets within this verse: “there is nothing to fear.” The rest of the verse explains why with these four phrases: “I am with you,” “I am your God,” “I will strengthen you,” and “I will help you.”

For too long I failed to believe any of these, even as a Christian.

Another verse, Psalm 56:3, reminds me what to do in times of fear. “When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. NIV” This verse shows me when fear immobilizes me, lack of trust lurks nearby.

A verse in the New Testament also encourages me when it comes to fear: “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind” (2 Timothy 1:7 NKJV).

The enemy, the one who tries to push me toward fear, wants me to doubt God’s power, His love, and the sound mind He gives me.

A fourth verse comes to mind about fear: “But perfect love drives out fear” (1 John 4:18 NIV)

God’s true love and deep fear may not reside simultaneously in my heart. Fear rules when I refuse to receive His love—when I put a wall to block its flow because of guilt, shame, unworthiness, all three connected to fear.

I desire not just to bask in my deliverance from fear, but to help others overcome fear as well—to assist them to believe what God says about fear and urge them to follow His instructions, so they can move toward freedom.

Jesus died on the cross to set me free—from all which binds me. During this Easter season I will continue to celebrate the release from my old title, “a slave to fear.” I remain determined to fully embrace my new title, “a beloved child of God.”

“No Longer Slaves” by Bethel Music

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8TkUMJtK5k

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Longer A Slave to Fear

  1. Joan Lanning says:

    Thank you for sharing…this is an enlightening article.

Leave a Reply

