After The Storm

Note: Although the date at the top of this blog says September 17, 2017, it was posted on Saturday, September 16th. If anyone knows how to fix this problem of the wrong date being posted by WordPress, please email me at emcreasman@aol.com.

Hurricane Irma has come and gone.

As I reflect on the storm, I praise God for bringing me and my family through it.

One thought comes to my mind again and again.

It could have been so much worse.

In our area, it was predicted to be so.

After surviving a storm like this one, all I can think about is how grateful I am.

Here are some gratitude thoughts which came to mind in recent days.

Thank You, Lord, that:

Our home received minimal damage.

Although my parents’ mobile home on Florida’s east coast sustained some damage, their home remains liveable.

All went well in staying overnight at the hospital where I work, and as far as I know, we had no damage to our building. The storm bonded me closer to team members and my boss as we went through the storm together.

Although our power remained off for days, it was restored before the estimated day.

The storm and no electricity caused our family to draw closer together.

The storm brought me and my husband closer to our neighbors.

The storm helped me grow in gratitude for the little everyday things I take for granted.

You used the storm to draw me closer to You.

And the list goes on.

As I reflect on Hurricane Irma, I’m reminded of blessings in the midst of storms in my spiritual life. An important one which always happens–if I keep my eyes on Him–is that I’m drawn closer to the Lord.

It’s key that I keep my focus on Him. Otherwise during the storm and afterward, I turn to complaining and being overwhelmed by negative thoughts. I give in to fear and my faith falters.

On the Christian radio station I listen to, I heard a truth before, during and after the storm which says God is my refuge in the time of storm.

I looked up the verse today and thanked God for how true it has been in my life—through every storm I’ve faced—literal storms and those in my spiritual life.

‘You have been a refuge…a refuge for the needy in their distress, a shelter from the storm.” Isaiah 25:4 NIV

Monday evening after the storm when we had no electricity, my husband, daughter, granddaughter and I sat out on our lanai with lit candles on the table and talked, enjoying just being with one another. If the electricity had been on, we would have been watching TV or in separate rooms doing our own thing. I felt so grateful that evening—that God spared us from what could have been so much worse. I also felt grateful for a loving family and all the other wonderful intangibles I possessed in my life.

“The storm” reminded me of what really matters and all I have to be grateful for.

Note: Continue to pray for those in Key West and the Caribbean Islands who have faced devastating destruction. God is able to encourage them and restore their losses. Pray the people will turn to Him as their continued refuge in the storm and in the aftermath of the storm.

You Are My Refuge-Maranatha! Praise Band

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRmSILC_tJE

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to After The Storm

  1. judithbeckman says:

    Thanks, Elaine. I am so grateful to know that my friends in that area got through what could have been a terrible disaster with minimal damage. Even though the area had to go through the storm, our God–our Great Protector–answered many fervent prayers for safety. Glory to God! Yes, let’s keep praising Him in the aftermath!

    • Judith, thank you for your comment. I do feel we can go through everything as we draw near to Him. After the storm, my gratitude level goes up as I recall His faithfulness–both in the physical and emotional/spiritual storms of life. God bless you as you continue to live for Him.

  2. Ed says:

    It’s so sad that we have to face such fierce storm in out lives to realize that God is in the middle of that storm and no matter what, we come out with all our hair intact (well…for the most part anyways). But the storms in our lives sure serve their purpose. If we face the storm and survive, we can face any storm! I’m so glad you are ok.

    • Ed, thank you for your comment. It is so true that when we go through a emotional or spiritual storm and survive, we realize that with God’s help we can survive any storm. Right now I’m facing another storm in my life, and God is keeping me strong and drawing me closer to Himself. God bless you in your walk with Him.

  3. Edith says:

    I join you to thank God for His protection. May He continually watch over you and yours and help those severely affected to pull through in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

