My Covering

As I drove to Vero Beach yesterday to visit my parents and see the damage hurricane Irma did to their mobile home and bring encouragement, I listened to the radio.

Tony Evans spoke about David slaying Goliath. He talked about the giants we have in our lives and how one key component, which David counted on, leads to victory every time.

This component is contained in verses 26 and 36 in Chapter 17 of 1 Samuel.

“…who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of the living God?” Verse 26

“Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God.” Verse 36

The bottom line is David knew he had a covering from God, and he depended on it. We Christians have that same covering, but we tend to fight battles on our own without depending on our union with the Lord.

Shortly after I heard this truth on the radio, as I drove down the two-lane section of SR 60, a blinding rain pounded down.

Visibility became limited. Although I slowed down, vehicles coming toward me seemed to pick up speed with semi trucks spraying water into my lane, which made my visibility even more limited. I prayed they wouldn’t suddenly skid toward me and slam into my car.

I thought of pulling off, but someone followed close behind me. Besides there was no shoulder, and the grass sloped downward on the side of the road. I slowed down even more and put on my blinkers.

Then I remembered the truth from the radio program.

“You are my covering. I pray for Your protection against this giant of a storm. I’m dependent on You,” I cried out to God.

As I prayed, I drove into a clear patch of highway.

“Thank You, Lord,” I said and heaved a sigh of relief.

Then it came again in a mile or two, (Florida is like that) and I repeated my prayer. I praised God. I prayed He would keep me safe from the vehicles coming toward me, which still seemed to be approaching at breakneck speed. I imagined it was because truck drivers have a schedule to keep, and they’re more accustoming to driving in bad storms than I was.

After another ten minutes of praying and asking God to help me with my driving and them with theirs and reminding Him I was dependent on Him,  I drove out of the storm, and toward a sky with puffy white clouds and a deep blue.

I realized one of the giants I faced as I drove through the storm was fear. This fear flared up because I felt I had no control—of the storm or of the drivers coming toward me. But as I remembered to put God into the equation, He helped me to deal with my fear. He reminded me that because of Jesus, I’m never alone.

Today I feel thankful that no matter what storm, struggle, or stressors I face in my life, God remains my covering, and I can depend on and call out to Him. Daily and moment by moment, I need to choose to do that. When I don’t, I feel defeated. Thank You, Pastor Tony, for reminding me of that truth.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Covering

  1. Amen. This is so true!! God is our covering and a shelter in the time of storm. He will erase all of our fears. No matter what we face in life Jesus is always there. Great post!

Leave a Reply

