The Gospel Makes A Way

Forty years ago this week, I made the best decision of my life. I received Jesus Christ as my Savior. I thought I already possessed salvation, but I realized although I attended church and had a heart for Jesus, I never invited Him into mine. I wanted to follow Jesus, but I never surrendered my life to Him before that day, but instead tried to remain in control.

Not long ago I wrote a poem about the subject after reading a prompt: “The Choice.”

THE CHOICE

Forty years ago

in the midst of a storm,

and a stormy marriage,

while traveling to Florida,

I said, “Yes” to Jesus

taking charge of my life.

The cords of depression

and doubt loosened

as I gave up my obsession

to be in control.

I wanted to be whole,

but my efforts to heal myself

accomplished nothing.

 

That day I realized

He alone is my healer.

He alone is my helper.

He alone hears and heeds

the cries of my heart

He alone loves me completely.

That day I made my life’s

best choice, and because of it

every day I have

a reason to rejoice.

Since that time God healed our marriage, and we love each other more than the day we married. He healed hurts and heartaches and led me to help others deal with theirs.

My desire for friends, family, and those who cross my path in search for a better way to live life, I can say offer only one statement, “You need Jesus.”

He led me out of darkness, and He will do it for anyone else who says “Yes” to His invitation.

I pray if you never have, You will do it today.

Here’s a link to my official salvation testimony, which was published in Moody magazine in 1998.

https://elainecreasman.wordpress.com/a-love-that-never-fails/

“The Gospel” by Ryan Stevenson

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTdFEZhjiko

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gospel Makes A Way

  1. Joan Lanning says:

    on target

Leave a Reply

