Finding My Sweet Spot

Not long ago, I talked to a teen who told me she hated her high school.

“Can’t you find anything good about it?” I asked.

“No, I can’t.” she said. “People there take drugs, get in fights, and most aren’t very nice.”

“And the teachers and other adults just don’t seem to care,” she added.

As I prayed for this young person who last year loved her middle school, I asked God for an answer I could give to her.

“Tell her to find the ‘sweet spot’ at her school,” was the answer that came to mind.

I heard that cliché before, so I decided to look it up. This is what I found online: “the point or area on a bat, club, or racket at which it makes most effective contact with the ball.”

The non-sports definitions said, “a location or combination of characteristics that produces the best results,” “a pleasant or favorable place.”

I passed the “find your sweet spot at school” message on to her.

“There is no sweet spot there,” she answered.

“Are you sure?” I asked.

Suddenly she smiled and said a person’s name.

“That’s my sweet spot,” she said.

As we talked, I discovered this was an individual she had met this school year.

“If you didn’t go to this school, you never would have met that person,” I said.

Her attitude seemed to improve a bit. I’m believing it will improve even more as she stops focusing on what’s wrong in her situation and keeps her eyes on what’s right and good.

Lately as I think about this principle in my own life, I see God repeatedly brings something pleasant and favorable in the midst of difficult circumstances. The key is to keep my focus on that instead of on difficulties.

Growing up in a small home with seven siblings and lots of chaos, my sweet spot was reading.

Later it became writing.

These days in the midst of difficulties, music serves as my sweet spot. So many times when I turn on the radio (my first choice is the JOY FM) as I battle negative thoughts and hopelessness in regard to certain situations, a song will come on which speaks directly to my struggle.

On my job working with the mentally ill, I lead a music group where I share uplifting songs with the patients either through going to Youtube or on my guitar. Often I’m the one who’s lifted up. The time I spend with the patients enjoying music is sweet.

Other times God brings a person into my life just at the right time who ministers to me in such a way that I feel overwhelmed by all the encouragement one individual can give to me.

Even when these don’t seem to work to lift me up when days seem dark, there is a truth which proves true again and again.

Jesus is my sweet spot.

When I remind myself He is with me through every trial and trauma of life, I feel loved and cared for. I celebrate what He did for me on the cross. I thank Him for coming to this earth, so I could be set free.

A verse came to mind as I thought about God being my sweet spot in the person of Jesus Christ. I thought about the fact that no matter what happens, I can enter into His presence and be lifted up.

“In Your presence is fullness of joy; At your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:11 NKJV

I can rest in the truths that Jesus loves me, He’s for me, and He’s with me.

Now that’s a sweet spot nothing and no one can ever take away from me.

“My Sweet Lord” by Crowder

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlHp1GMJEww

 

 

 

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding My Sweet Spot

  1. Great phrase to pass along “Sweet spot”! And Crowder–who can get enough of that guy? Talk about a Jesus freak…I would love to be on the front pew in church with him…

    • Dear Friend, thanks for your comment. I just found and heard for the first time that Crowder song the day I posted my blog. I love such wonderful discoveries. God bless you as you pursue to serve Him wholeheartedly.

  2. Dear Friend, thanks for your comment. I just found and heard for the first time that Crowder song the day I posted my blog. I love such wonderful discoveries. God bless you as you seek to serve Him wholeheartedly.

Leave a Reply

