Embracing Humility

Often I think of the humility of Jesus. The King of the Universe humbled Himself enough to live among peasants and even decided to be homeless on the very earth He created.

Some days I say I want to be humble like Jesus. When I’m honest I have to admit pride is still poisoning my soul. Sadly I keep letting it happen.

When I take my eyes off of God and what He wants and put them on me, other people, circumstances, and what I want or demand happen with each, that’s pride.

I’m learning how devious Satan, the prideful king, is and how he lures me into being consumed with my wants. He craftily convinces me that focusing on things other than God’s priorities is all a part of loving myself.

When I read the following passage in Scripture which talks about the humility of Jesus, I notice it presents His lowest and then His highest moment. It speaks of Him bowing His knee in obedience and then of every knee bowing to Him.

And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death–even death on a cross! Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every other name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow…and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord…Philippians 2:8-11 NIV

As I meditate on this passage, I think of how Jesus was brought to His knees as He carried the cross. Here was the King of kings, the Lord of lords letting others bring Him to His knees when the rightful picture was for them to be falling to their knees because of who He was and is and ever more will be.

Days before His death He was on His knees washing the disciples’ feet showing them how to be like Him—a humble servant, who came to the earth to serve rather than be served.  (See Mark 10:45)

Jesus’s humility brought confidence that He was doing the Father’s will. When I’m mocked because of doing right, I feel shaken. I pray God will so deliver me from pride that I won’t fear people’s opinions. Then I’ll stop trying to prove myself right or even trying to prove God exists.

My desire is that I learn to just obey– especially during hard times. Through humble obedience, I believe things will fall into place–maybe not the place I want them to be, but the place God wants them to be. As I declare what Jesus did, “yet not my will, but yours be done,”  I’m embracing humility.

What about you? Have you marveled lately at the humility of Jesus and wondered if it’s possible to have even a fraction of that kind of humble attitude? Are you willing to pray along with me that difficult prayer which will bring us to places that will stretch and grow us? “Lord, humble me.”

Here’s a song about our humble King.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3pgVC5jeXg  The Humble King

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embracing Humility

  1. clellac73 says:

    One of my most difficult struggles is pride…what other people think of me does matter. I tell myself I want to make a good impression for Jesus, but much of the time it is truly for ME. Thank you for this reminder and I, too, am praying for humility. Good thought provoking post. Clella

  2. Marylou Hess says:

    Elaine, You have such a beautiful soul to write this. I find I only struggle with pride around people who make me feel less than they are. A few people come to mind. I pray, Jesus meek and humble of heart, make my heart like unto Thine. There is a statue of Jesus ourside the school (now closed except for CCD). I see Him every Sunday as I rush in, and as I rush out to go to the Spanish Mass, and on Fridays when I go to Adoration. He is wearing His Sacred Heart clothes with the long red robe.
    May God bless you for sharing your spiritual thoughts.

Leave a Reply

