The Satisfied Soul–Part Two

Something wonderful happened on Mother’s Day.

I sat on my lounge chair while my granddaughter, Destiny, frolicked in the pool. My daughter, Tami lounged beside me. My husband, Steve, sat nearby. We laughed together as we watched Tami’s new puppy  excitedly chase lizards on the pool deck.

My other daughter, Mindy, snoozed at her home after working the night shift as a nurse.  Our plan was for her to meet me at my work place for dinner later in the day.

In that moment the wonderful thing that startled me was I felt satisfied. Problems in my life had not vanished. Longings of my heart remained unfulfilled.  Yet for the first time in awhile my heart felt full.

All my life I’ve leaned toward being a “glass-half-empty” person— focusing on problems instead of praises.  At that moment I saw my glass half full and then suddenly completely full and even overflowing.

One reason was that my eyes turned away from problems and rested securely on God and His blessings.

I realized people would love to have my life. God has gifted me with so much—a lasting, loving marriage and loving family, faithful friends, good health, a challenging job, financial blessings, a meaningful ministry of speaking and writing, a beautiful home, the promise of a home in heaven, a God who cherishes me. And the list goes on.

Too often I’ve kept my eyes on what I lacked. To describe it in a word, I longed for perfection. I wanted everything completely right in my world and in the world out there. No more tears. No more sorrow. What I wanted was heaven on earth. And I spent a lot of time and energy trying to make it happen.

In his book, Enough is Enough; Grace for the Restless Heart, John Westfall speaks of the struggle to attain satisfaction. He asks, “So why wasn’t I satisfied? What was wrong with me that I should feel a knawing discontent when I was living a pretty good life by most standards?”

One of his answers was:  “The fact is that we are not content to be merely people in relationship with God. We want to be God, recreating the world in our own image….We want to design our surroundings, control the people in our lives, and manipulate our circumstances. We want to be God.”

His big answer to our restless, unsatisfied hearts is that instead of trying to be God we need to receive grace from God. 

“Grace is God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense” I’ve heard countless times. I’ve read “grace is power to do what God wants us to do.” The dictionary says, “unmerited divine assistance, undeserved favor.”  

Instead of receiving grace from God, too often I’m trying to earn grace, which is impossible. One way I try to earn grace is by my efforts to straighten everything out in my world—including the people. Unfortunately that moves me away from grace and satisfaction.

Here are two verses about satisfaction I’ve been meditating on:

… I shall be fully satisfied, when I awake [to find myself] beholding Your form [and having sweet communion with You]. Psalm 17:15 AMP  

Because your love is better than life…My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods…Psalm 63:5 NIV

The bottom line is when I keep my eyes on God and His goodness and open my heart to receive His grace, that’s when satisfaction washes over me.

How about you? Can you say that you are satisfied? As you determine to receive God’s grace, satisfaction will follow. God guarantees it.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Satisfied Soul–Part Two

  1. Jane Reece says:

    Uncanny that you always send a blog to met me at my moment of desperation. I so needed to focus on God & praises rather than to be buried beneath circumstances when this arrived. How you manage to be write on, my friend. Cheers!

  2. gwenhazelton@yahoo.com says:

    I FORGOT ABOUT GRACE. THANKS ELAINE

  3. Lynn Wesolek says:

    Thank you for reminding me about gratefulness. I watched my husband work his heart out at the home of people he didn’t know, people who are dear to me. Yes, he likes/needs to be busy, but he worked this hard because of his love for me and he knows how I love these longtime family friends. I was reminded, again, by his actions how blessed I am by God for this man in my life and how many riches I do have. I am a lucky woman, I have what I need, and I want what I have. God has graced me with peace and love and I will continue to share it.

    • Lynn, thanks for your comment on my blog. We truly can live a whole different life if we remember to be grateful for all of God’s blessings. It has taken me a long time to truly embrace this truth.

  4. Thanks, Elaine. I needed that.

Leave a Reply

