Developing A Teachable Heart

“You’ll be inspired,” I promised a couple after I invited them to watch a movie with me. The true story was about a man who came from a harsh background, but through his mother’s encouragement and faith in God became a world renowned neurosurgeon. 

I was surprised by the husband’s answer.

 “I don’t want to be inspired,” he said and turned the TV on to watch a crime drama.  

 At first I judged him, but then I wondered, “Do I sometimes have that attitude?”

 I thought of times I closed my eyes to inspiring stories and happenings around me and just paid attention to my own little world and all that was wrong with it.  

 As I’ve pondered this person’s comment and my own “I don’t want to be inspired” attitude, I realize I slip into it in my spiritual life when I abandon the challenge of changing, stretching, growing.  Because of that person’s comment I now see God’s desire is for me to continue to want to be inspired and then changed by Him, so I can become more like Jesus.

One Bible study teacher explained what the opposite of a “I don’t want to be inspired” mindset would be. She called it “a teachable heart.”

 When I was a student I loved to learn. Because of this teachers liked to have me in their classes.  Even after I left school, my hunger for learning did not diminish.

 That’s how God wants me to be in the spiritual realm—always eager to learn. When I have a teachable heart, I maintain an open heart and mind eager to receive truth from the Lord. Two areas where God brings truth are in the form of correction and instruction.

When I think of those two words, Psalm 23:4 comes to mind. 

Yes, though I walk through the [deep, sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I will fear or dread no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort me.   AMP

 My moving away from a teachable heart is like the sheep that leaves the fold so that he does not have to experience the rod of correction and the staff of instruction from the shepherd. This can happen when I’m going through a dark valley. Yet that is the time when it’s most important to remain teachable and close to the Lord.  

 Only in recent years have I realized how essential it is to embrace God’s instruction and correction.

It is through these two essentials that I attain and maintain spiritual freedom and live the life God has called me to.  The Lord is pleased when I act on gentle whispers from the Holy Spirit encouraging me to deal with wrong behaviors or to initiate positive actions.   

God is a wonderful teacher. What beauty becomes evident in my life as I learn from Him.  

 Oh Lord, today and from this day forward let me remain teachable.  May my attitude before You be, “Father, I want to be inspired and changed by You.”  

 How about you? Do you have a stubborn “I don’t want to be inspired” attitude? Will you consider presenting to the Lord a teachable heart? You will be amazed at how listening to and acting on God’s correction and instruction can transform your life.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Developing A Teachable Heart

  1. Clella says:

    Elaine, so true and so lacking in so many Christians. (Including myself) Thanks for reminding me. Clella

Leave a Reply

