We Win! We Win! We Win!

“Cubs win! Cubs win! Cubs win!”

Those were the words I shouted as my hometown team won the World Series after a 108-year drought—the same words announcer, Harry Caray, would shout after a Cubs victory.

Those six words were in the Tampa Bay Times the morning after that historic game which ended late at night, and yet had me and scores of others staying up to watch even though we had to get up early in the morning for work.

My daughter and I watched the dramatic this-is-going-to-give-me-a-heart-attack game together since my husband was out of town. When the final out was made, I uttered my six words and some others and screamed louder than I did in labor. As I hugged my daughter, I felt overwhelmed emotionally thinking back to all the memories with family involving the Chicago Cubs—especially back in the day of Ernie Banks, Ron Santo and Billie Williams.

At work the next day, I still felt excited and discussed the game with coworkers who also stayed up late to watch.

I found myself saying out loud, “The Cubs won the World Series,” for the pure joy of it.

I’ve also said “Cubs win!” quite a few times since that night just to remind myself of the amazing victory.

In the midst of my celebrating, I thought back to what I’ve heard Christian speakers ask in regard to sports and Christianity.

“Why don’t we get as excited about what Christ did as we do about the victory of our favorite sports team?”

But the Cubs were cursed some believed, and their win was such a long time coming. We have to shout and scream and get all excited.

The words came to mind, “We win! We win! We win!” Because of what Christ did on the cross, we who have accepted Him as Savior have a victory that goes on into eternity—a victory that wins us not a spectacular trophy for our city or pride that our team has finally won but an eternal home in heaven.

Another part of Christ’s victory on my behalf is the transformation that has taken place in my life. He found me as a depressed, battling suicidal thoughts, always feeling rejected, self-loathing individual and changed my heart, my mind, and my emotions.

I confess that I do let the things in this world arouse me more at times than the amazing victory Christ won for me. Hell was my destination, but now I’m going to heaven. Once I was starving spiritually and now I’m living an abundant life with more blessings than I ever dreamed possible. Why aren’t I more ecstatic about that? What causes me to take it all for granted too often, or even muse that I somehow deserved it or earned it or that changes came about by my own efforts?

My goal is to get more excited about my spiritual victory and to tell others more often about what Christ has done for me and can do for them. Yes, certain things in this world can seem exciting, but they can never measure up to what I’ve gained through Christ. I’m still excited about the Cubs’ victory, but it pales in comparison to my victory in Jesus.

I don’t want to be complacent about the victory I—we–have won in Christ. Sometimes the enemy tries to tempt me into believing I’m not a winner—that I’m a loser because of all that’s going wrong in my life. Other times he tries to convince me that the body of Christ are losers because of all the wrong things Christians do. I refuse to believe those lies.

Instead I will believe 1 Corinthians 15:57: “But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

I am on the wining team–not just as an observer or fan but as a player–and because of that there is much to celebrate.

Will you join me in getting excited about what Christ has done for us, how far He’s brought us, and how deeply He loves us?

“We win! We win! We win!”

Note: Please pray that everyone connected to the Chicago Cubs organization will gain the greater victory by coming to the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. Ben Zobrist is already a committed Christian. Pray many more will follow.

Get All Excited by Gaither Vocal Band 1989

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o6SNRtTGZTQ

 

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Win! We Win! We Win!

  1. Great article, cousin! That was an exciting game, which even I watched to the end, with only a Puggle named Wiley to celebrate with me! I, too, will make more of a conscious effort to be as excited in our victory through Jesus as we are in the 108 yr. wait for the Cubs victory in the World Series. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

