Trusting God in Tragedy/Grief

A part of me wants to run away from God.

He could have prevented this. My Lord could have answered my loved one’s prayers for relief from back pain. Certainly He has power to have saved his life—to intervene in those final desperate moments and to shine His light into darkness. He could have caused a different outcome—one where instead of taking his own life, my loved one said, “Here God, I give you my life; help me to live it.”

I still don’t understand how such a tragic event could have taken place. But one thing I know. I have to keep trusting God. That’s the only way I can make it through this valley of grief.

As I’ve determined to cling to God, He brings words of comfort. He has reminded me that in the scope of eternity this sorrow is “a light, momentary affliction,” (See 2 Corinthians 4:17) even though it doesn’t seem so.

He has encouraged me when I’ve agonized that I didn’t do enough and could have saved this precious life: 

Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus Romans 8:1 NIV.

He has brought songs to mind and repeated an instruction He gave me years ago when I was mourning other griefs: “Sing away sorrow.” One song from “back then” is “Be still, my soul” written by Catharina von Schlegel in 1752.

Years back when it seemed life was too hard, too painful, I sang that song over and over after hearing it on a Ginny Owens CD.

Recently I looked up the words.

“Be still, my soul; the Lord is on thy side/Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain./Leave to thy God to order and provide/In every change He faithful will remain./Be still, my soul; thy best, thy heavenly Friend/Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end…

Be still, my soul, though dearest friends depart/And all is darkened in the vale of tears;/Then shalt thou better know His love, His heart,/Who comes to soothe thy sorrows and thy fears./Be still, my soul; thy Jesus can repay/From His own fullness all He takes away…”

Other words the Lord has brought are:  “What Satan meant for evil, I will work for good” (See Genesis 50:20). As I trust a God who sees all and knows all, I’m growing in the confidence that He will bring triumph from this tragedy.

Do you believe that about your own hard place?

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trusting God in Tragedy/Grief

  1. Beth Willis Miller says:

    Elaine, I so-o-o resonate with your post…I do believe God sees the end from the beginning…and trusting God means looking beyond what we can see to what He sees…that He knits it all together for our good and His Glory…the lyrics to “Be Still My Soul” are very special to me also…I wrote a little post about it here… http://bethwillismiller.blogspot.com/2011/07/be-still-my-soul.html …I have also heard the analogy that we look a life like a child looking at a baseball game through a pinhole in a wooden fence, while God sees every base, every play, and everyone in the stands all-at-once from a Goodyear blimp…and Ray Steadman once helped me catch a glimpse of this when he said, “one day we will step out of time and into eternity and see the panorama of past, the present and the future all-at-once”…Thank you for helping me see a wider perspective 🙂

  2. Clella says:

    Elaine, Our God will supply your needs, but I have been where all I could cry was ” My God help me!” and He did. time does help but some things I have to trust Him because I will never understand them in this life. Praying for you in your time of grief. Love Clella

  3. Tammy Bovee says:

    Hi Elaine,
    I’m so very sorry to hear about your brother. I’m reminded of how Jesus wept when Mary and Martha lost their Lazarus. Truly Jesus walks with us and mourns with us. Psalm 34:18 comes to mind that Jesus is close to those whose hearts are breaking and that He saves those who are crushed in spirit. May He be especially close to you and your family as you experience every stage of grief.
    I am praying for you.

  4. Lynn Wesolek says:

    May you find comfort in those so-totally awesome words in Corinthians and the song. I know they touched my heart many years ago, and now, as I watch my mother slip from life.

  5. Yes, my own hard place will yield triumph over tragedy. It is what we learn from such events that have the ability to propel our relationship with Christ.

    God bless,
    Michael

  6. Holly Lyon says:

    Hi Elaine, I am very sorry to hear about your brother. I really appreciate your honesty as well that we can be honest with God with some really real hurt in our lives. I will pray for you during this time of grieving.

Leave a Reply

