Meet Anita Ayers

When I asked Anita Ayers, a fellow writer, what God had freed her from, she told me “bitterness, unforgiveness, drugs,self-pity, fear.”

She also said, “Just last week I told people, ‘Whatever you do, don’t leave this planet until you know what it feels like to be free!’ There was a time I could barely hold on to the dream of feeling whole and now my days are spent knowing that I am whole and complete in the love Jesus gives me. Yes, I have my challenges but I face them all knowing I am never alone and I never will be alone again. I’m on the winning side now and forever. “

I love to hear from and about people who went through traumas and tragedies in their lives, and yet they have let God heal them and are being used in a mighty way in His kingdom. I think of this verse:  

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen (Ephesians 3:20-21 ESV).

Here is Anita’s personal testimony:  

“The first ten years of my life were fraught with physical, sexual and emotional abuse and neglect. As I entered my teen years the after effects of my childhood were manifested in dangerous self-destructive behavior. I ran away from home for the first time at 13 years of age. I was later arrested as a juvenile for possession and sales of dangerous drugs and spent several weeks in jail. I continued running away and left permanently at age 15.

I hitchhiked across country. I abused drugs, alcohol and lived the party life. At age 18 I married and became pregnant with my first child and managed to get “straight” for about two and a half years. I began to unravel after the marriage became increasingly troubled and I reverted back to my old behavior.

At age 25 I felt as if I was at the lowest point of my life. I was broken and almost suicidal. After doing drugs and alcohol all day and night I stumbled into my bathroom at 4:00 am and saw my reflection in the mirror. I looked hollow and empty…devoid of all joy and hope. I cried out to God for the first time in many years and made my way upstairs to pass out.

Within the next few weeks I left the drugs and the party life behind me and moved into a place near my family. I began attending church and tried to repair my broken marriage. We were unable to salvage the marriage but step by step the Lord Jesus began to walk me back to a place of wholeness and joy. I cannot begin to explain what God has accomplished in my life. His grace and patience for me is the most humbling experience I could ever imagine. He literally took me by the hand day after day and began to heal me spirit, soul and body. To say he has revolutionized my life would be a great understatement. He is my constant companion, my Lord and my King. I hope to live long and strong and bring honor to his name for the rest of my life.”

A song that has ministered to Anita is “Mercy Seat” by Vicki Yohe. Here’s the link to that powerful song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oFzRfAePC4U

To hear more of Anita’s story, listen to my radio show, “Hearts Set Free with Elaine” on Sunday, October 6, 2013 at 8:30am EST. Go to www.wtis1110.com and press “Listen Live.” Or you can go to the website and listen from the archives of my show by pressing shows, scrolling down to Hearts Set Free, and then clicking on the show in the archives on the bottom right of the page.

About elainecreasman

I am a freelance writer and inspirational speaker. Since 1986 I have led the Suncoast Christian Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

